Marriage logo

An Unpopular Opinion From A Married Teenager.

The highest divorce rates are among the young and rushed marriages, I took my chance.

By Em EmPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
6

I got married at 18. We spontaneously decided to get married in one week. After our family got over the shock of us getting married soon, they became supportive. In seven days we had to do what people with popular opinions do within a year (or more) when they plan weddings. The ceremony, honeymoon, gown and suit, photographer, wedding bands, makeup artist and flowers.

We found the first available place to hold an intimate wedding ceremony at a local chapel. They provided us with a photographer.

My mother took me to three bridal boutiques.

“What year are you getting married?” The nice ladies in the boutiques asked.

“In Five days.” I confidently said.

“We can’t help you here. There is simply not enough time.” Was the sincere response to my unpopular situation in all three boutiques.

The mall was my last bet. I tried on over twenty dresses. I eventually found a white prom dress.

He wore a suit for all occasions. He found it in his closet.

The wedding bands. Same story.

“When’s the wedding?”

“Two days.”

“Your kidding?”

“We made an unpopular decision.”

We were left with two golden wedding bands that did not match each other in style.

The makeup artist. A quick google search.

After calling ten makeup artists, I found one who accepted to come in the morning.

The wedding day arrived, and we were ready.

Wait, the flowers! Luckily, we made a quick stop at a Supermarket.

After our short ceremony, we went to a McDonald's drive through to grab chicken nuggets and a vanilla milkshake. Our wedding was an unpopular one, but at McDonald’s we were extremely popular. A lot of workers poked their heads out to witness the bride and groom receive their food. I even got a free water bottle. I grabbed the bottle of water and we headed straight to our honeymoon destination. We arrived at our camping spot. It was cold and dark, but we managed to put up our tent. We spend the next few days drinking champagne and eating Costco's cheesecake by the lake.

Done, we are married!

We had an unpopular wedding. My wedding day was not what I, nor my man imagined our day would be like. We were originally planning to have a popular American wedding. We wanted it to take place in October 2021, three years after we first met. We dreamed that all our closest friends and family would witness our vows on a tropical island where we would later stay for our honeymoon. We went against society's norms and popular opinion. We wed within less than a year of knowing each other rather than waiting three years to get our lives “together.”

When I tell my story to others, their eyes get wider than owls. Right away I get conclusions thrown at me.

"Couldn't wait to get to lovemaking, eh?"

"When's the baby due?... oh, your oven is empty?"

"Who forced you?"

Really. Why didn't we wait? Why did we get married much earlier than planned? The one and only reason is love. We were too impatient to wait any longer. We wanted to serve each other and create an even more powerful spiritual and emotional union. We are aware of the challenges not only marriage, but also youth brings, and experience it daily.

We are currently at the seventh month mark of my marriage. These months have been one of the sweetest and challenging chapters of my life. Our life is quite simple, it's not too different from any other married couple. There is nothing terrifying about being married young.

Although my husband and I are content, this is not a "happily ever after," because there is no such thing as a "happily ever after." Happiness is constant rewarding work. It is regardless of the age, number of guests, and preparation time, because it takes equal commitment from both sides to be happy in a relationship. Each day my husband and I are learning and developing stronger communication and understanding of each other's needs.

We have found our place in this world together, we share intense feelings of affection to each other. We are excited for the future. This is just the beginning of our love story. There is more to come.

This is my unpopular opinion and experience.

ceremony and reception
6

About the Creator

Em Em

She is Canadian, young and dramatic.

Em’s work is inspired by her life.

She writes whatever comes to mind.

Find her on Instagram @em.em.hehe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.