Families logo

Yarn Meditation

My Best Quiet time

By Wanda B HenryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Best Quiet Time

In the middle of the night, I pulled out my knitting needles and started to knit. I was only 10 years old but I wanted to make a hat. I started to knit but ones knows if you knit it makes a problem if to miss a stitch. I had to try again. I had one elderly lady who lived close by. I would go to her house and listen to her stories, and she taught me how to quilt. The blankets she made were very beautiful and I learned so much. As I found my peace and learned to quilt, I felt as if there was nothing I could not do. I was taught to knit with a goal in my mind to pay attention as I made worked. Yarn as so many uses, I made crocheted place mats to sit on the table. All the moments I spent crafting made my heart rejoice. The second thing I made was for my cousins’ horse who she kept in the stables. I bought some pillow and then I ask myself, what color yard to I want to add my initials. Another relaxing project is decorating your pillows. Oh yes, I had to make sure I had the right size needles, this project was needle point. Then my cat had some baby cats. Every time I pulled out the yarn the cat started playing and jumping. I went to the local fabric store, and I got a pattern for a cat sweater. I followed all the instructions carefully. I order some music for stress relief and played it as I crocheted. I fell to sleep with the crochet needle I my hand. When I was in high school, we had a competition, and it was embroidering beautiful art. Once you pick your photo than you picked the yarn you wanted to use. To make the experience more relaxing they had a fountain that ran during the whole competition. I like to do my knitting as well when I am on vacation. It is a way to relax the mind and it can also be colorful. For instance, I designed and knitted covering for the toilet and made a mat to mat for the cabinet. Also, I did a full embroidery on all the trims on the curtains in my first house. That was a big job making curtains for very large windows but when I added the embroidery that eased the task. My last project was a set of baby booties. So many little one has been born during this pandemic. So, when I a baby is on the way I get the yard and start working. One thing about needle work it keep my mind calm and collect. Sometime the time moves so fast when I knit or crochet. It moves quickly when I am quilting as well. That is a skill I never regret learning. Time moves fast and relaxation follows. The calming music also keep the soul satisfied.

So now in the middle of the night I pull out my yarn, turn on some jazz and get to work. Yes, I still make hats and scarfs. Those are easy and I learned to embroider swimsuits for a swimsuit store. As an adult I have made a living out these things. Its relaxing because it beautiful work done under peace and tranquility. Thank you for letting you share my experience with yarns! Right now, I will start my next project. I want to make a blanket for my mom, a quilt. Her favor color is yellow, I will start will bright yellow yarn.

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Wanda B Henry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.