Families logo

Barren Women

Beauty and The Beast

By Wanda B HenryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Sunset

The plight of a barren woman. Its very hard to fit. What is the first question people ask, how many children do you have? It has been hard to fit being motherless. For many years they were spent on just trying to have a baby. I attended some baby showers and than felt again the pain of not fitting in. Being a motherless women in that since. I think one of the biggest times the Beauty and The Beast feeling took over. It was not that I was trying to fit in but when I hung out with my husband and his son I just pretended to be his Mom. If the son had not cleared it up well I would have fit in I was pretending to be a Mom. Being a stepmother is different with my 2nd husband was easier. I was out one day with my Sister and her that day her husband, she had just found out she was pregnant. Again, I did not fit in because my 2nd husband of over 10 years tells everybody at the restaurant table I could have kids. I was total outcast, I felt shocked. I think the fact that I was married three times it makes people wonder. Why does she not have kids? Believe me all efforts were put forth. I got into a lot of trouble in my life when I found my 3rd husband. The problem of not fitting in but thinking now I will fit in. I will marry my 3rd love and 3rd husband. He was suppose to be my first husband. Ok thats it a women being left at the Altar after the invitations went out. She really never really fits in after that. Not mentally can she imagine proper love. The infertility and all the ideals that made me not just fit in. When you know in your heart every step of the way. The problem came when men decided the Beast of the race to involve themselves with the under developed beauty. She may be damaged and left in a space only she can trace. But the good thing about all of this. My 2nd and 3rd husband both have a girl and a boy. And my first husband had zero children. I must now try to fit in with life after menopause. The nurturing effect of motherhood from observation and the extent of time the mother has to spend with the child proved to me that it is something different. I still find it hard to fit in. I have two stepchildren I met only once in 13years. Two step grandchildren I have never met. Both the names of my 2nd and 3rd husbands has been preserved. My special bond has been with my nieces and nephews. I have so many I cannot number. I have many great grand sons and great grand daughters. So many to love and to hold. The difference for me I never had to take a child home and hold a raise as there only caretaker. So I look to my Maker and say thank you for taking care of Me. Beauty is only skin deep because young girls get pained, raped and suffocated. You never know what happened to a Barren Women. Most are not born that way.

I want to fit in!

As I meditate on fitting in I remember once I was at a baby shower signing to the mother to be. After all looked at me and said why don’t you have children? I did not fit in again, but I remained strong. I just looked up and said on nothing just "Rape".

immediate family
Like

About the Creator

Wanda B Henry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.