Families logo

My Piano

My Little Secret

By Wanda B HenryPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Happiness is Playing my Piano

When I was a little girl only 12 or so one day I came home and my parents bought and organ, the type with many instruments. I was one of six but a very quiet person. But for hours I played that organ, and I taught myself to play and read music. I played for hours at at time. One day the person who lived next door came over and ask my mom, who is the concert pianist. It was me! But it started earlier than that when I was a 3 or four my mom had a piano in the house. I would play for hours playing that piano. My baby brother was born, and he played the piano with me. He is still an entertainment to this day. Something happened when I was 12. One day I came home, and the organ was gone. I was only 12 I did understand why it would be gone. I later found out later that it was returned to the maker for nonpayment. Then I became an adult and I said I must find my joy a piano, so I saved all my money and then I bought my own piano. It was so beautiful. I would play for hours at a time. Then one summer I met my second husband and we moved, and many changes happen. You guessed I had to sell the piano however, I was so happy because that piano went to a little girl. I know you wondering let me set your mind at ease in high school I had a private male of course Piano teacher, his name was Roger Spot and he is dead now. He was unique because not only could he play, but he also played with some of the greats. Roger was like a father figure; he had no eyebrows he had a hairless face. The next piano was interested because that one I gave away I bought from the father of a Piano company; he was dead. His Son in Los Angeles sold me the most beautiful Piano for only 900 and it was fully tuned. It was a strange time, but I would play for hours and soon after I got it my stepdaughter came and I met her for the first time. I wrote her a song on my new piano. The birds would sing with me daily as I played my instrument.

My love for my piano was great. Family changes came and another move and something happened to break my piano heart. I piano was sold given away without my permission. I had tried to get someone to hold it in a garage. I had approached a bar owner to see if could hold and cherish my Piano. I wailed as she was taken away against my will. My Piano. So next I got a CTK-496 but it need a cord and I went to many stores, and I could not get it to work. God stepped in good friend sold me another CTK-496 and it runs on batteries. Happiness for me is one bottle of red wine and my Piano. I like to play at least two hours straight. Happiness is My Piano. My audience is usually just me, myself and I.

So why I love piano so much? It relaxes my nervous system. My brain goes straight to peaceful mode when tuned in to piano. After I play, I have a glow of positive inner moods to lift me. Bad becomes good in my Piano Heart.

Piano, Piano where art now my Piano

art
Like

About the Creator

Wanda B Henry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.