Families logo

Why widows sense their deceased husband’s presence

The explanation might be more simple than you think.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Why widows sense their deceased husband’s presence
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Forst of all let me clarify my position. This article is not about seeing ghosts or spirits or hearing voices. It’s not regarding doors banging or thinking your deceased spouse is trying to make contact. I believe that once an individual’s spirit leaves his or her body, they are in eternity and don’t have permission to return to the earth. I do not negate anyone’s personal experience but share mine in order to help someone else. Let me also add that until you have walked in the shoes of an individual whose husband or wife has passed there is no way for you to understand why they feel as they do.

I have listened to so many widows recently who day they still feel their husband’s with them and 2 say they continue to talk to their deceased spouse on a daily basis. There is no supernatural activity but simply a feeling that their dearly departed is still with them. I had an experience this week when I went to the funeral home to pick up the box with my husband’s ashes that gave me a little insight into the situation. I understand that grieving wives will interpret this occursnce in many ways based on their religious and or social views. I want to share what I believe may really be going on.

As soon as I touched the box that held the bag with my husband’s remains I felt an overwhelming sense of love for him. This gave me such an indescribable joy and peace and I believe this was because I was reflecting upon the fact that I was holding in my hand all that remained of my spouse in this earth. I liken this experience to a relationship where you get a letter in the mail or some other item from a spouse who is in the service and whom you have not seen for a while. You are so happy to have some momemto that your emotions overflow.

I know my husband's spirit is in heaven and that he is not reaching out to me. Even so I wanted to understand what had transpired this morning. I know some will say my spouse attempting to contact me from the great beyond or that he will always be with me but if this is true what happens when a woman falls in love again? Does the deceased simply take a hike when his widow is grieving no more? This is why I believe this experience has more to do with the emotions the wife had for her spouse at the time he passed away.

I also know that some will say evil spirits are impersonating a dead husband and trying to trick the grieving widow. Again I say this is about my personal emotions and not any type of supernatural encouter. Think for a moment about when you were first dating someone and missing time away from them. Memories of your last encounter together and anticipation of seeing them again increased your feelings of love. I believe that some widows who are surrounded with items that belonged to their spouse may smell his scent or favorite cologne and it brings back fond memories.

By Kat J on Unsplash

I will not be having a seance or wearing my husband's ashes around my neck. I will do nothing intentionally to try to summon him back to the earth or that will manifest some type of presence that pretends to be him. The Almighty saw fit to receive my husband's spirit and I will not interfere with that. I will however accept any fond memories that flood my soul and cherish them. You may not agree with my deduction and that’s OK. I still believe that some widows might sit in a chair that was a favorite of their spouse or pick up a clothing item and be overcome with emotions.

I handled the box of ashes that held the remains of my grandmother and my father and I felt nothing. The love I felt for my spouse lasted for 45 years. The last 5 months of his life I cared for him as I prayed he would recover as he had at other times. During this illness, my children and I noticed that his skin was becoming smoother as if he were getting younger. His hair became silky and I felt myself falling in love with him all over again. For 5 months I cared for him and grew closer to him in a different way. I believe all of this played a part in why I was flooded with feelings of love when I first held the box with his ashes.

I share this story to give other widows a possible explanation and suggest not mistaking their own feelings for their spouse as his trying to make contact. There is much about the spirit world we don’t understand and I’ve watched many television shows about the supernatural where things took a turn to the dark side. A number of individuals have stated that what they thought was a deceased spouse. child, or parent trying to communicate turned out to be something evil that was impersonating their loved one.

By Kat J on Unsplash

If you find that the love you had for your deceased husband or wife is amplified by sering or touching something that belongs to them, by all means enjoy these hapoy moments. If they bring you joy, slow your tears and ease you grief this can be a process to your healing. Accept it for what it is and don’t let others ridicule you. This is my observation and I hope it helps some grieving widow. I will not address or judge the experiences of others or how they cope with their loss because this is an individual choice. Again I shared my experience for those who need an explanation and are not trying to take the situation into uncharted territory.

Memories and recollections, along with your own personal feelings can be very powerful. I for one don’t desire to mistake them for something they are not. If someone tells me they se or talk to their deceased loved ones it’s not my job to tell them any different or dispute what they say. I miss my husband terribly and would rather he remained here with me a little longer but that did not happen. I have days when I cry uncontrollably snd at other times the memories keep me going. Let me also say that my husband had a strong personal relationship with His creator. When he prayed in church you could feel what has been described as the peace of Hod? His presence or anointing. I believe this was also a factor and that my Creator was letting me know my spouse was with Him.

I cannot prove any of this but I share that someone may consider this possibility. There are women who feel peaceful when they smell their spouses cologne, or begin wrapping up in his favorite blanket or wearing his shirts does not move me because I did these while he was alive. There are other women who may feel the love while doing these things. We all are different and will not respond to the same stimuli. I am not going to attempt to erase 45 years of history by forcing myself to move on. I’m not going to throw myself into any activities in order to ease the pain. I will embrace those feelings of love when I feel them to help me on this part of my journey.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.