Families logo

When Your Childhood Dies

Saying Good-bye

By Sarah GlassPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
4

Our childhood seems to last forever until the day our grandparents pass.

Suddenly, we feel so much older.

We blink and count how many years it's been.

And then grasp for every fragment of memory we have of them.

We replay their voice and laughter over and over so we never forget.

We stare a little longer at the places they used to walk, stand, and sit.

No matter how much death hurts, somehow it brings us closer together.

I'll never forget all our summers together in VA.

The hills me and my siblings and cousins ran down until we were covered in hitchhikers, chiggers, and ticks. And the swings Pawpaw built, how we kids would race to grab our favorite swing, pushing, shoving, and becoming enemies for the next ten minutes because Savannah was faster.

The fishing trips we'd all go on, catching crawdads and splashing in the water. And those bumpy rides to and from the fishing spot in the back of that old pick-up truck.

Those summers were some of the best.

I'll never forget Poppaw's laughter and gentle, soft-spoken nature paired with Mawmaw's euphonious voice and smiling face as she opened up her arms to us saying,

“Come here and let me give you some sugar.”

And when it was time for us to head back home, Poppaw always tried to sneak us a few bucks just before we left.

I'll never forget his cowboy boots and tractor rides with the smell of fresh hay in the air and raspberries on our tongues.

And I thought he was so brave, all dressed up in his beekeeper suit to care for his bees and bring back some honey.

Because a single bee would send me straight to the hospital.

But I still enjoyed that sweet honey.

His love for animals is something I loved and will cherish about him, especially when he would fill up the hummingbird feeders.

I was certain, one day, I could get one to land on my hand.

And in the evenings, if we kids weren't catching lightning bugs, playing hide-and-seek in the dark with flashlights, or still fighting over those swings, we were inside playing a very competitive game of Pictionary or Black Jack.

Meanwhile, Poppaw's Westerns played in the background as he sat in his favorite chair, the smell of dinner wafting from the kitchen where Mawmaw was cooking up a storm.

But now it's time to say good-bye.

Good-bye to the smell of bacon and eggs in the morning.

Good-bye to the Christmas tree full of owls and cardnials that sat in the green room.

Good-bye the the sounds of Mawmaw's hairdryer at five in the morning as she got ready for the day.

Good-bye to all the beautiful flowers that once grew in her garden.

To the bowl of fruit she would have ready for us when we came over.

To all the treasures she and Poppaw collected through their adventures to different countries.

To the oil paintings that hang on those wooden panel walls he painted, inspired by Bob Ross.

To the hummingbirds that will no longer come for a drink.

To the hay that will never be grown and collected.

And it hit me the hardest when I realized this was the last time the fridge would be full of food.

As I took home one of Mawmaw's indoor plants.

Because it would die otherwise.

And as we drove over the land with the mountains surrounding us...

A part of me died too.

I love you forever

__________________________________________

Written in memory of my Mawmaw who died January 2022 and my Poppaw who died August 2023

siblingsimmediate familygriefgrandparentschildren
4

About the Creator

Sarah Glass

It started with FFX fanfiction stories and my love for creating a world to escape to when reality's teeth sank in too deep. I'm an artist, a dreamer, and I have an original story I've been working on for 8yrs. Time to get it published!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Brenda Fluharty2 months ago

    Great writing. I understand how you feel. lost my grandfather when I was 21. I have never been the same.

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Wow, this is still fresh. I hope writing about it helped you process those feelings. This was a lovely tribute to both your grandparents. Your grandfather creating paintings inspired by Bob Ross is so endearing.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I am so sorry for your loss( both of them!) I lost my grandma during the pandemic, and she never got to be with my child as much as I wanted. She was the best grandmother I could ask for. This was beautiful and sad.

  • Alexis Mundy9 months ago

    Lovely and I had tears in my eyes thinking of those I have lost. Which is why I try to enjoy every precious moment with those I love because life is so short. And in the blink of an eye they can be gone!

  • Alivia Varvel9 months ago

    This is so lovely and made me very emotional. Kinda strange but grandparents having been weighing heavily on my mind lately. They are there and gone far too quickly. Thank you for sharing this beautiful part of your life and what your family means to you!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.