Families logo

What did you get?

A new generation of Youtube

By Ashleigh CorbinPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Opening a brand new toy for the first time is a sensational feeling and a one of a kind experience. Little did I fully realize this absolute, truly magical experience until I had kids. The mystery of an unknown toy and creating a collection is the same adventure I had as a child when getting a Happy Meal and not knowing what Hot Wheels or Barbie toy I was about to get, but I never made the connection.

So as much as I love this particular Youtuber- I can't help but be simply annoyed by them in the same heartbeat. Hear me out for a second. This kid made roughly twenty million on youtube alone last year and has probably cost me around a thousand dollars because of his brilliant show and marketing. It makes me mad, proud and curious.

Ryan's World...Ryan's Toy Review....Ryan's Mystery Play Date has me questioning everything I have done in my life. Like seriously, where did I go wrong? An eight year old kid is making more than I probably will ever see in my entire life...by opening up toys. That's it. Crazy right?? But it works!

Photo Credit: www.toybook.com

Now here is what makes me mad. There is nothing special about this idea. There are quite a few youtubers out there doing exactly the same thing. They buy toys at first and then give their personal opinion of the toy. You watch their experience and anticipation of opening the packaging. You watch as they go through excitement of describing their new toy. It's such a simple concept and yet my kids are mesmerized by it. They ask for more of it. And every single time I hear that familiar, "Welcome to Ryan's Toy Review"...I cringe. I feel my kids are watching it on repeat all day. The worst part is that whatever toy or new experiment they are doing, my kids immediately want it or want to do it. Have you ever made ooblock? I have. (Yes, it was fun and a great bonding time...and it was also deviously messy). Do you own a gold giant mystery egg? We do.

In the same breath of being fed-up with this Youtuber...I am proud. I am left speechless so many times to watch a family engage with one another and make everything an adventure. Brushing teeth? Awesome. Doing a coke with mentos experiment? Exhilarating. Eating cheerios for breakfast? Marvelous. It is absolutely fascinating that a family took video from their phone, added a few edits, and showed up consistently just playing to make this all work. I have watched quite a few kid youtubers (because that's what my kiddos love) and I 100% respect Ryan's World for the simplicity and real showcasing of life. (Yes, I don't know how anyone can keep an all white house with three kids spotless, but nonetheless, you genuinely experience the families interactions). It gives me a sense of pride and hope for future family relationships. That mom, dad, and kids can be imaginative and creative with their interactions and not be succumbed to a screen all the time. It has inspired our own interactions to be better and more meaningful.

Finally, Ryan's World makes me curious. It behooves me to fully grasp the concept that short, consistent videos have millions upon millions of views. I love the audacious belief of a mom. A mom who had a career and yet stopped everything to help her son chase after an idea. I am left speechless at how there is a continuous growth with the show to adapt to change while keeping the mission and purpose the same. This curiosity challenges my own determination to be better and a risk taker in new areas and never give up.

So, although this beautiful love hate relationship will be a part of our families life I am certain for years to come...it is a relationship I am happy to have. I know it will most assuredly cost me more money, but it will also be a deeper perspective to live my life with adventure. And as Ryan always says, "Make sure to stay happy and always rise up".

social media
Like

About the Creator

Ashleigh Corbin

Hey love! Thanks for dropping by! I am a wife (8 years and counting!!), a momma to two beautiful babies (and one on the way!), am an experienced Health and Fitness Coach and an entrepreneur.

Instagram: @Ashleigh_Corbin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.