Families logo

We are alike but so different!

The mother/daughter comparison

By WendyPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Picture by author

Over the past 2 or 3 years, I have noticed how much my youngest daughter is like me. Since she has become a teenager we have had a lot of problems with her.

She spends all her time in her bedroom and doesn't want to spend any time with the family. We have gotten to fighting over it all the time anymore. It's like the only time I ever see her is at the dinner table for all five minutes while she eats her food.

I have gotten to be thinking of my teenage years living with my mom and realized I used to do the same thing. But instead of being on a cell phone and tablet while laying on my bed, my nose would be in a book.

Then the next thing about her that I have noticed about her is that she had been having a hard time with depression. We have been working on getting her counseling services to help with this. I take mental health issues seriously.

But she has been through 3 different therapists in the past year. She would have a couple of sessions with them and the next moment they wouldn't be there anymore. This is not helping her. Now they have her seeing one that I know of who has been there for a long time.

A few weeks ago we found out that her file has her down as having Borderline Personality Disorder. Which I have to. This is another reason I am happy with her current therapist. I had her when I was going through DBT therapy for this same issue.

But there's more that reminds her of me. Since she has started middle school she has talked about being bisexual. She seems to go back and forth in her relationships. One moment she has a girlfriend and the next she has a boyfriend. Currently, she is in the boyfriend stage.

But is always talking about anything in the gay community. In fact, one day we were at Walmart shopping and she saw a roll of yarn in Rainbow colors. She insisted that I buy it and make her a pillow out of it. So I bought 2 rolls and started a granny square pillow for her. She says she is going to call it her gay pillow.

Now you might wonder what I'm feeling about this issue. Well, I love her anyway. She is my baby. I am the type of person who can't stand bigotry of any kind. Especially since I have my own personal secret that I have kept to myself since I was a young adult.

Although all the relationships I have ever had were with men, I am also attracted to women. I have even gotten to the point where I refuse any friend request on Facebook from guys.

It drives me crazy when a guy messages me to say hi, so I say hi. Then the next thing I know, they are saying how beautiful I am and they love to mend we are going to be together forever. Then next thing I know they are asking me for money because we are together and in love. They tell me they are from Africa or somewhere else overseas, they are a widower who's wife died of cancer.

All this does is turn me off of men. I mean come on I am not a gorgeous woman. At the most I am is average. I even had a guy on Facebook try to make me believe he was Prince Harry. Complete with a Facebook account, name, and everything wanting us to be together.

But I digress. Back to my daughter. It amazes me how much we are alike. But then we are so different. I love movies, writing, and reading. She is athletic. I have weight issues and she is very fit. She is a beautiful young girl. And I'm not. Haha. She is so talented in everything she ever attempts to do.

The point I am trying to make? No matter what she does in her life, no matter who she is or how she feels she will always be my girl. My opinion is that all parents should feel this way about their children. Unconditional love and acceptance.

They are who they are and no matter what they are our babies. No matter how old they are.

To my little girl I love you, I have always loved you, and I will always love you!

Hi, I hope you enjoyed this article. To see more articles like this please leave a small tip. It takes time and a lot of work to create these articles for you. When you leave a tip I will donate 25% to some of my favorite children's charities. Like St. Jude Hospital for children, The Shriner's Hospital for children. Thanks again for your support. Happy reading!

children
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.