Families logo

UNFORGETTABLE HOLIDAY

MAGICAL GREEN NORTHERN LIGHTS

By kayhan egeliPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

" How is my daughter this morning, did you have a good night sleep ?"

" It was not bad really, I had a bit of nightmare must be my treatment, I have another, chemotherapy session today," said Rose.

" Jenny, are you taken Rose to the hospital later? I shall call to school and let them know,"

"Yes that is the programme, I shall give her a lift and be back after lunch," my wife said.

***

" Hi, it's me how was it at the hospital,? "

" Fine, she did well. She is resting at the moment," my wife said

" Listen, I checked the dates with the travel agent, we can travel Finland Lapland second week of December, for four days and be back before Christmas, is it okay with you to book that dates,"

"No problem, I shall inform Rose's school,"

***

This is our little surprise to Rose, our daughter. She had been diagnosed with cancer six months ago and had regular chemotherapy. Seeing Father Christmas at Lapland had been her wish last few years. Our twenty-five wedding anniversary will be at the same time as the holiday dates. This was killing two birds at one stone for me.

***

" Everybody make sure you've got everything laptop, kindle, mobile etc., Taxi is on its way," I asked my wife and daughter,

" We are ready and set to go, have you got your wallet and bank cards? last time you had a problem with that," my wife said.

***

It was nice to see Rose excited. She had lost some weight recently. She was smiling and was very talkative. I felt great organising this trip. More than anything it is going to be a break for all of us. The last six months had been terrible. We arrived at the airport in time. After a few drinks and duty-free shopping, we are called in.

" Are you comfortable, Rose?" I asked.

"Yes, it is fine. How long the flight is, do you know?"

"It should be less than three and a half hours," I said.

***

We arrived at the Ivalo Airport in Lapland. When we were out of the airport, freezing air hit us. Pavements were covered with ice and were very difficult to walk. It was a picture of white everywhere, with inches of snow coverings. A taxi transferred us to the hotel. Rose needed a rest. We stayed in our room for the night.

" Dad, what is the programme for the next four days?"

" We will be very busy, tomorrow will see Santa Claus and village for Noel celebrations including elves, following day, reindeer ride the last one is the surprise to you"

" It is fantastic, looking forward to it, mum did you hear that few busy days for us,"

" Yes love, go to sleep it will be a long day tomorrow," mum said.

****

" Rose you are up early, you are already dressed and ready for breakfast,"

" Yes and I am wearing all my woollies, I hope I shall be warm,"

"Listen, I shall also get some extra jumpers and hats in my ransack, in case you needed, cover your head, not having any hair you may catch a cold easily, " mum said.

" Today, We will move to a hotel near Santa Claus village and stay there till the end of the holiday, don't leave anything behind here," I said to them.

***

" Cover your face Rose, It is freezing weather. I don't want you to get cold, Be careful walking around the village, roads and pavements are very icy and snow is making it difficult. We are not used to it," I said.

" Don't worry, I am okay dad, look, Santa Claus post office. I know that place where all the children letters were received from all over the world and delivered to Santa Claus at the North Pole. I am going there I shall post one for me. Please wait for me,"

Road the Santa Claus was lit with lots of colourful lights. It reminded me of Blackpool illuminations. Except, we had elves running around, playing with the reindeers and dancing to Christmas music. Everything is being covered with snow, it was a very colourful and magical picture.

***

" Rose did you have a good time in the hut with father Christmas? looks like you have more than one presents. Don't open them now. Keep it till Christmas will be a big surprise. "

" Yeah, I thought the same. I had a lovely time with Santa Claus. My dream came through dad. I could not ask more, let me give you and a mum a big hug and kiss," I saw few tears in her eyes.

***

" Goodmorning everybody, today we are on our way to Santa Claus's Secret Forest at Joulukka. We will have a reindeer ride with Santa's Sleigh. We should be there at eleven o'clock. Chop, chop get ready no time for sleeping " I said.

" It sounds like we will have another exciting adventurous day in the wilderness," said Rose

***

" Hi everybody, welcome to Secret Forest for your sleigh riding. This large sleigh of Santa is prepared for the three of you. I shall first introduce you to our reindeers who will give you a ride. 'What's your name, little girl?' he said to Rose. ' It's Rose' said my girl. " You will know the names of reindeers, they help Santa Claus to deliver children presents at Noel but I shall introduce them to you, anyway, they are Dasher (he is the leader), Dancer, Prancer, Vixen, Comet, Cupid and the Donner (puller). The trip is organised to show you the wild nature of the North Pole. By the way it is only eight miles from Santa's village. Please get on the board and use the blankets. It will be windy and quite cold during the ride. Any problem, don't hesitate to give me a shout,"

***

" Rose, did you enjoy yourself,?" I said.

" I was a little bit cold but watching the beautiful scenery I did not mind,"

" It was exciting, I was wary of bears and wolves in case we could come across in that environment," said my wife.

"""

"This is our last day everybody, get ready for the big surprise,?" I said.

" What is it, by the way, happy anniversary, hope you did not forget it, here is your present," my wife said.

" Today I organised a special programme, it is my anniversary present to you. After a good lunch in the village, we will be back at the hotel. Rose needs a good rest. The hotel has a Thermal Glass Igloo in its gardens. I hired it. tonight at seven o'clock we will be there to watch the Green Northern Lights of Lapland. I believe it is a rather special event. There will be three beds drinks, food and a telescope to watch the sky."

***

We were in the thermal Glass Igloo. We lay down on our beds. We started gazing at the sky from the glass ceiling of it.

" Listen, everybody, we need to be patient. Green Northen Lights will happen between seven and twelve o'clock at night. It apparently happens twenty minutes breaks. We've got to be patient. Just enjoy the millions of these sparkling stars while waiting for it. We are really lucky the sky is very clear. You can also use the telescope to look at stars." I said to Rose and my wife.

" Dad, look out sky gone light pink and I can see the waves of green lights surfing the sky. It is amazing,"

" Green lights are dancing across the sky, They look like a fast- moving green clouds all over. This was a display of shimmering lights. It is an experience we will never forget and will remember the rest of our lives. What a night, thank you, it is a lovely present " my wife said.

In silence, we watched this unusual happening all night . I can not find any word to describe it. Once in the lifetime experience of nature.

***

" Although we had a lovely time and some magical behaviour of nature, it is nice to be back home. Rose, you have a lot of stories to tell your friends. I bet you can't wait to see them soon enough," I said.

" Yes, I am dying to meet them soon. But I am patiently waiting the Christmas morning to see whether Father Christmas got my letter and delivered my toys, dad"

***

Two days before Christmas, Rose passed away. Her toys are still waiting to be opened. My and my wife, believe her innocent spirit will be with the green lights of Lapland.

children
Like

About the Creator

kayhan egeli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.