Families logo

MOTHER'S DAY!!

HAPPY DAY FOR SOME

By kayhan egeliPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
PLEASE NO INTERFERANCE TO OUR LIFE

Hi Mum,

Happy Mother's Day to you from your son and the family..

I have seen your recent letter and mother day's card to my wife regarding her pregnancy which made her cry, forced me to write you this letter rather than making a simple cell call to make a quick wish. In the last few weeks 'Abortion' has been a piece of top news since to change the legal entitlements by the Supreme Court's decision. I know your feelings, as you know I do not share them. Angela being in two minds with her pregnancy and us having a regular argument about it made the situation unbearable. She can't celebrate 'Mother's Day, ' with our six siblings since your strange comments. " You've got enough kids, don't need another one just get rid of it, " put in your letter was upsetting. I know you support the idea of abortion and have had a few of those in your life.

I never told you or discussed your past comments regarding my childhood but I can't help raising these issues after your recent remarks. Since you had two sons, you did not want to have more children, especially in your second marriage. My stepfather had a few confessions about calling them miscarriages rather than an abortion. Being a regular Sunday service attendant in our local church, I always wonder how you explained them to the congregation and your friends. I also remember the day you said to me " You were the unwanted child, I tried to get rid of you, drunk lots of alcohol, hot baths nothing worked in the end I throw myself out of a bunk bed still was not lucky," It made me very sad but also thinking about it that accident might have played a part at the cause of my ' club foot'. I remember the days I was wearing an iron casting and braces around my foot to reposition it. For many years I could not do PE, join the gym or do any sportive activities. It is a very sad but true fact for me, for you it was something that happened in the past to an unwanted child. I always felt an alien child syndrome and was very sad about it. Luckily enough abortion efforts did not work, in that sense, I must be blessed to be alive.

When you told Angela in your letter " you have enough problems with your six children, do not need anymore, get rid of it for all your sake," did not go well with both of us. For your information, Angela is in doubt to carry out the pregnancy because her high blood pressure medically has been monitored by our doctor. Since she had a miscarriage and a stillborn child earlier in our marriage the grief we went through on those occasions was unbearable. We questioned the meaning of life but did not find any answers. Today, we hope not to live those experiences while our children help us forget those horrible events.

You always supported and agreed with what other women said in their protests against the government legislation " It's my body, My choice,". But it is not. What is in their body (and was in yours) is an embryo. which was created by two partners. Both individuals should decide the killing." Men's Rights Matters in abortion," We argued many times and agreed to disagree. Why now raise this issue and make our life difficult? We moved to LA from Miami to avoid your interference with our family life. It wasn't right for you to be critical about raising our children on every occasion. In the end, was too difficult to get on with our lives. We had to move and put a distance between us to save our marriage. Funnily enough, I remember the days you used to say about your mother in law of first marriage " I can't stand her, she is ruining my marriage by interfering," and when had a divorce you blamed her. I do not want that to happen to us. Please keep your views to yourself.

The birth of a child is always been one of life's greatest gifts to us whether the present pregnancy is accidental or not, as you sarcastically called it. As long as Angela's health permits, we will proceed with it. Hoping that you are going to become a grandmother again, the seventh time, maybe you will enjoy it even.

I may sound very harsh to raise old memories on this specific day but to assure you that you are my loving mother, I love you and am a part of you.

I hope Dad is doing okay? Sorry again to talk about our old lives on this beautiful day. Sometimes the truth hurts. I only remember mostly your remarks about childhood memories and your interpretation of the events reflected in my upbringing. As a parent, Angela and I know we are not perfect "Nobody is really," but can only try our best to show our children our love. As long as we provide a good life and assist them with their problems till they can stand on their feet our job will be done.

On that note, wish you again a very Happy Mother's Day and our love to you and Dad. Hope to see you soon 8X

Accidental Son

Note: Thanks to the Pixabay for the picture.

children
1

About the Creator

kayhan egeli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.