Families logo

Treasures To Find

The Ultimate Betrayal

By Cathy DeslippePublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like
Valuable Items To Buy

I Will Be Here For A Long Time

My sweet mom, stronger than anybody I had ever known. Watching her the last days leading up to her passing, showed me more courage and strength than I had ever known my whole life.

Ten years ago mom was diagnosed with a very strange blood cancer. Gathering my brother Tom, sister Mary and myself Kate, to come and talk with her,

"I know the doctors have told you all ,that I have stage four cancer in my blood, but remember I am not Cancer". "I will be here for a long time and have a good life".

Mom wanted to be known as Sarah, Mrs. Smith, mom and most of all grandma and in no way did she want to be known as a woman having cancer, or the word spoke around her unless it was from her lips.

I think that mom and her faith was so strong, that after two years the doctors couldn't find the cancer anywhere. In shock the nurse even took more blood to confirm that the cancer was really gone. All she took was a cancer pill (lost a bit of hair), "she really beat it.

In the ten wonderful years that mom went on to live, we celebrated her 80th Birthday with all of her family and friends on her front lawn. Lots of pictures were taken. Mom looked so beautiful, most importantly during those years she seen two twin girls(her great grandchildren) come into the world.

By the time life was almost over, she had eleven great grandchildren, ten grandchildren and of course the three of us. So much love in her family than you could ever ask for.

The Last Stages Of Life

The last final year my husband Tim and I moved into the house so I could care for mom. I also had a wonderful PSW come in that would help me shower her, at times the dear soul would put make up on mom to make her feel good.

We had a house about fifteen minutes away, it was easier for the two of us to be there and do what we could to make her final stage in life a very pleasant one.

As the days got closer I recall her saying, "make sure you have me all pretty now, put my lipstick on". "Your daddy is going to be waiting for me". Mom and dad truly did love each other.

I still to this very day look for her, wait for her to call me. I know she was going to a better place, she told me so. The biggest thing she said "we are never given anything, that we can't handle".

A Loving Family With Way To Much Betrayal

After our dad had past my mom went to the lawyers and had her will all changed over. As far as moms care, Mary and myself were left to handle that. As far as farming the land and caring for the cows, my brother was left to do that. (he lived right next door). When she past we were to divide everything equally.

I felt like we were all being a great team. Mary did groceries and even helped with the laundry. I cared for mom and kept the house tidy but to be honest, we really just thought that our brother Tom was doing a wonderful job with the farming.

Well we learned something, even in your own family you can't always trust everyone. That one person was "Tom".

The Lawyer had us all gather around the table and went on to tell us of our mother's wishes. Basically everything including the house and farm would be left to Tom and a few items that were photographed, were left for Mary and myself.

"This was not right!" Mary and I looked at Tom and the grin on his face had said it all. The lawyer had continued to state that Tom had to make a few changes on the farm over the cattle a year ago, During that time he brought our mom in and she signed off everything to him.

"Mom wasn't even well at the time, how could he do this?" "Was it even legal".

Well Tom left with a great big smile on his face, while Mary and I stayed on to talk to the lawyer.

The lawyer was very kind, he kept saying how sorry he was. I guess we truly felt that Tom had really taken advantage of our mom during a very weak time in her life. We did ask if there was anything we could do?

The only answer was. "If you find another will dated after this will, or if the doctor can find justification that your brother has done wrong". I am so sorry ladies"

Which Path Do We Take Now?

We asked permission from Tom to go back into the house and go through mom's clothing, we both wanted to take them to the shelter. Also to get a few photos and pick up what was left for us. He didn't seem to have a problem, the only thing he said is," the home will be appraised in three weeks". (during that time come and get what you want, except the antique furniture as I am having an estate sale)

Mary and I could barely walk around the house, we kept feeling that this was all too wrong. Sitting on the sofa I reached for her hand and said, remember what mom said, "we aren't given what we can't handle".

Mary only shook her head , tears rolling down her face.

A Very Long Week Of Tears And Fears

Mary and I went in to talk things over with mom's doctor. When we told him everything, he was quite troubled. He said that Tom brought her in the year before and she was slowing down, her cancer hadn't returned. So as far as her mental state .she was very coherent. He was troubled to hear that Tom would divide the family all because of "greed".

I even remember my dad telling Tom, just because your my only boy doesn't give you the power to treat your sister's like you do. "Grow up to be a good man, show some respect".

The Value Of A Black Book

We stopped at our favorite coffee shop that we always took mom to. Everyone was so kind and carrying about our mom passing away. Mom always had such a big heart and would do anything for anybody in the community as they would her. We were even given our coffee and muffins on the house. The minister of mom's old church even came over to chat with us.

Rev. Campbell had known our parents for many years. My sister and I went on to tell him what we were dealing with. Oh he said, your parents had a lot of problems when Tom was growing up and many times they would come and talk with me. We always prayed together and of course, you knew your mom always carried her little black bible with her. We would read a few scriptures to help guide us.

Rev. Campbell went on to say that mom had her little black bible and dad had his little black book. Your dad would say he always kept his treasures very close to him.

Such a wonderful man and minister and just listening to him, I felt like turning how I was feeling around. "I think our parents would want us to - if it was meant for Tom than we needed to carry on".

Two Black Books - Mom's Bible And Dad's Little Black Book Of Treasures

I went and picked up Mary on the last Saturday before Tom was having the Estate Sale on the house and all of the Antiques. When we drove up the driveway he had signs everywhere. The estate planner was walking around and writing in a book, what he thought the value of each thing should be worth.

I felt ill and I know Mary kept saying, "I am glad our parents aren't here to see this day". I know she was right, but if this was what mom wanted, what really could we do?

Inside the house a feeling of mom and dad still came over us. Walking through the house and all of the wonderful memories we shared there, especially our Christmas's together were amazing.

Cleaning up we went into our parents bedroom last. The hardest room to go to. Mom and dad were always cuddling in that big sleigh bed, even as they aged. We both decided even at our age we were going to take a run for the bed.

We both landed on the bed and couldn't stop laughing that little did we realise that two books had fallen, "clump".

Mary, laughed and said it had to be mom and dad playing jokes on us.

Actually to our surprise it was mom's bible with a ribbon marker and dad's tiny book of treasures. While we picked it up, we both got a real big "Surprise".

"A Last Living Will" dated after the one that Tom had done with mom. Inside dads little black book of treasures with all of the assets was the will with a letter.

Dear Sweet - Mary and Katie

My sweet and very helpful girls. I know if you found this, that I have gone home to be with your dad.

I had problems with your brother, so I called your great Uncle George to come and help me out. Tom had our local lawyer draw up a will leaving everything to him, you know I would never do that. Your dad warned me of him and his greed.

I love all of you equally and this will is my last and final one.

Please notify the County Police and have them come to the house after you read this.

Love Forever And Always

Mom And Dad xoxo

Four Police Came Up The Lane Way

Standing shaking, Mary and I stayed in the house. Two police officers came into the house and read the letter and the two wills. We both had explained how our brother was selling everything and had the will changed after mom had already done it. We had only found the Last Will in our dad's Little Black Book, when it fell on the floor in their bedroom.

The officer called the other lawyer and he was told what he had to do with Tom. (Mary and I had no idea).

All of the officers quickly went down to the farm and took our brother down to the court house. I quickly called Tim my husband to come and Mary called her husband to come. We had no idea how or what was going to happen next.

We stayed at the house and the estate planner left when the police did. All of the signs were taken down, we didn't want anyone breaking in, so we all stayed the night.

In the morning the men went down and took care of the chores and we ordered a nice breakfast from the coffee shop.

To our surprise when we went to pick up the breakfast, there was Rev. Campbell. He came right over to talk to us, after ordering his coffee he followed us out to the house.

The Little Black Book - Peace Verses War

Mom was right, we are never given what we can't handle. I had already came to terms with what ever mom wanted, than that is the way it should be.

After finding the final Last Will in dads "Little Black Book", I realized that all families had issues. Tom on the other hand, just wanted power.

We called the police station and one of the officers brought Tom back to the house.

His head was lowered with much shame, he kept saying he was sorry.

Mary and I, well like mom. Life is to short and we have been blessed to find our mom's real wishes.

With that being said, Tom you have been left the land close to your home to work, a few tractors and the rest will be divided between Mary and I. Our parents loved us all equally. In time we will all heal and be grateful to have had such amazing parents. Hoping one day we could be like them.

Mary and Tim (two sons) bought the house and everything was equally divided.

As for me, the only thing I really liked was "Dads Tiny Little Black Book" and of course Moms Bible.

grief
Like

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.