Families logo

Impacting Moments

Left Imprints On My Soul

By Cathy DeslippePublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Impacting Moments
Photo by Claudia Love on Unsplash

Often it is simply little things in life that a person may say to you or an expression they make that stays with you for an eternity.

In my case, it was one very lonely lady named Carrie.

When my children had gone to school, and their asthma was improving, I decided to look into taking a nurses' aid course. (what we would call a PSW course today)

The course was pretty intensive, but I knew it was what I wanted to do more than anything in this world. I had always loved doing things for others, so why not start here?

I worked in the extended care of a nursing home in my hometown Paris, Ontario, Canada.

I loved caring for the patients, going around and getting them up in the morning. Many would tell me it was too early and that I needed to return to bed.

The joy of bathing, dressing and having my patients ready for the day made me happy. If they were pleased, I was delighted.

Often during their breakfast, I would play the piano while they had their meals. Unless, of course, they needed a little help.

I had the joy of working with some fantastic Registered Nursing staff; it was beautiful to learn through them.

We had one patient who was losing sight but could paint amazingly.

Lots of crocheters and lots of card sharks that loved to win.

The most beautiful thing I learned from each of them was how much life meant to all of them. Every day was a tremendous blessing; they would find the littlest thing that made them happy.

The one who touched my heart the most was "Carrie".

Carrie often liked to sit in her room alone. I found on my breaks stopping in and having visits with her. I noticed that she didn't have any visitors. Yet she was always happy with so many beautiful life stories to share with me.

Sometimes I would make her a pot of tea and sit and chatter.

Easter was soon coming; many patients were going out. Many had family coming in. Yet Carrie told me other than the bunny, she would celebrate it on her own.

I asked the charge nurse's permission to bring my children to visit her. The nurse was more than happy to have them come in.

Carrie's eyes just lit up when she saw the kids. She was so excited with a bouquet from my son and a few little goodies from my daughter.

We started to go and visit her more often; I made her a few things, and at Christmas, the children and she put up a little tree.

As good as this was for Carrie, seeing my children engaging in a relationship with one very special lady was beautiful.

Carrie became part of our family.

A Big Shock

Heading into work one morning, cheerful and happy as I loved my job. I saw so many people around the door of Carrie's room. Concerned but had to get my orders for the day, I just kept going on with my work.

When break time came, I thought should I stop in? Should I speak to the charge nurse? I was getting more concerned than ever.

Then I saw the Minister come in.

Then one by one, people came out crying.

Carrie had gone home to be with her husband in heaven. (How she missed him).

Better yet, all those people walking by crying, were her children, grandchildren and the rest of her family.

I had no idea she had that big of a family.

What Did I Learn From Carrie My Angel?

Life is more precious than worrying about the little things in life. I never heard her speak of her family, yet our time together brought us both joy. "Life and living it to the fullest is better than feeling sorry for yourself." "Make do with what you have, but always be happy."

I worked a few more months after but soon they wanted all of the Nurses Aids to go back to school and become the PSW, so instead of that, I started to work from home for a company doing office duties.

A day doesn't go by that I dont think of our dear Carrie.

If life gives you lemons, make lemonade.

or

Lemon squares.

Whatever makes you happy.

Love Carrie xoxo

By Elena Kloppenburg on Unsplash

values
1

About the Creator

Cathy Deslippe

Catherine Deslippe

At the age of 7, I became an author. I am an international writer with many authors; all royalties went to cancer patients without insurance. I used to write to cope, but now I write to bring others hope.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Dear Cathy ~ You see what I've been harping on for VM to create a 'Senior' Section; such life memories to pass on! My wife worked in Dialysis. She became extremely close to her patients due to their constant treatments: When she came home looking down - I could always tell she'd had a bad-day - sometimes a needed big-hug will do-ya! I'd tell, Rita Louise, that I wouldn't have the 'Guts' to do such sad work; but, that I so respected her that she did. *At her funeral hundreds of her patients came to say goodbye; how lovely is that! Yes, Cathy, you had a 'Special' Job!...Now, sit down at the Piano and play us a tune! - Vocal Authors Community - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.