Families logo

To My Favorite Person,

By PoeticQueen

By PoeticQueenPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
3

Dear Yodael,

Who would’ve thought my cousin would become my best friend? I definitely did not expect it, but I’m happy. Over these two years, you’ve helped me in so many ways and you’ve always been there for me whenever I need you. So I’m writing this letter as a way of saying that I’m happy to have you in my life.

Yodael over the years, you have become not just my best friend, but you have become the best big brother I never had. You were my inspiration to start writing poetry two years ago, and you still are my inspiration today. To be honest, if it wasn’t for you being my #1 supporter, I probably would not still be writing. It still warms my heart to see that you would take the time out of your day to listen to my poems. Yodael, I know sometimes you don’t believe me, but you literally inspire me every single day to become a better creative and a better person overall. I’m also thankful to have made songs with you because you are such an amazing artist. You are my inspiration and you are also the most talented person I’ve ever known, and I’m not just saying that because we’re related. Ever since we started to get close, you are literally my #1 favorite artist! You always have been and you always will be, and I am your #1 fan! I always have been and I always will be.

You were also the first person I told about my struggles with mental health and the struggles I had with my parents. I remember the day you texted me saying that you were going to tell your parents about it because I wasn’t getting the help I needed. I started crying that day because I was so happy that someone in the family actually cares about me and my struggles. Yodael, you’ve seen me at my best, and you’ve also seen me at my worst. You’ve held my hand through so many mental breakdowns, and you even comfort me when we’re on FaceTime as well. You’ve taken care of me when my parents never did. You’re one of the strongest people I know because I know that you’ve gone through a lot of things as well, and yet you’re still able to put up a smile. You’ve literally wiped away my tears when I was too broken to wipe them away myself, and you are probably the only person who can make me laugh after I’m finished crying.

Every time we FaceTime, I get really happy when you call me because you always find a way to bring a smile to my face. You always find a way to make me laugh even when I’m upset. You always find a way for me to smile even when I’m crying.

As I’m finishing this letter, tears are streaming down my face but they are happy tears this time. Yodael, I’m so happy that you are a part of my life, a part of my family, and a part of my close circle. Thank you. Thank you so much for seeing me in a way that I never saw myself before. Thank you for being there for me when I need you. Thank you for loving me not just as a cousin, but as if you’re my brother. Thank you for being my inspiration. Thank you for being my best friend. There’s one more thing I want you to understand. Yodael, you’re not just my best friend. You’re my favorite person. I love you so much and I can’t wait to make more music and more memories with you.

Love,

Yemima (a.k.a your little poet)

extended family
3

About the Creator

PoeticQueen

I’m a creative creatively using my creativity to create creative creations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.