Poets logo

I Am…

By PoeticQueen

By PoeticQueenPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
I Am…
Photo by Samantha Fortney on Unsplash

I am the woman my younger self wished to be.

I am a marigold, ready to bloom but only when I’m cared for properly.

Otherwise, I wither away due to being treated maliciously.

And what good is having a flower if not wanting to take it seriously?

I am the sound of a saxophone at a jazz club.

Playing melodies so smooth that those who listen will be so soothed.

I am poetry in human form.

I transform every time I perform.

I go from shy to confident,

From timid to unapologetic.

I am learning that I don’t have to be on stage to be powerful.

I am learning that having strength comes from survival.

I am learning that forgiveness is not for them, it’s for me.

I am learning that being vulnerable doesn’t mean I’m weak, it means I’m healing.

I am the woman my younger self wished to be.

I am a fighter, ready to fight any fight that comes my way.

I am learning that if a man doesn’t respect me, then he doesn’t deserve me.

I am learning that no excuse

can justify any type of abuse.

I have been learning how to love myself and it feels so beautiful.

I am the woman my younger self wished to be.

I am poetry in human form,

I transform every time I perform.

I am a survivor of the storm,

I am a flower that has survived all of the thorns.

I am the woman my younger self had prayed for me to be.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

PoeticQueen

I’m a creative creatively using my creativity to create creative creations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.