Families logo

Three shopping paradises

Where the Christmas magic begins

By Elena Stoyanova KalchevaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Christmas time is magical. And what makes it particularly great is the rush to get the perfect presents. We are still in lockdown due to COVID-19 so all the shops require wearing a mask, but that is not bothering me. I’m after the ultimate shopping experience, so I am ready to explore. And the first shop I would visit is Trinkette.

It is a small shop but it is full of delightful surprises. Soaps, candles and toys spread splendid smells of orchid, vanilla and sea mist. Little bracelets sparkle on the window sill. I can spend hours searching through different colors and aromas. There is such a big choice: lavender soap or sea mist candle, or maybe some of the wonderful jewelry. The shop keeper is very friendly, yet she allows you time to explore on your own. The shop is neat and tidy, the stock is in fine order on the shelves, which always made me a good impression. And I cannot tell enough of how wonderful it smells inside, just shopping there is aromatherapy on its own. I always go there but especially on Christmas to recover from stress. It lifts my mood and I can feel those happy hormones going wild. After 5 minutes of browsing in the aromatic cloud, my nerves tension is reduced and I can feel my well-being is being boosted. I always go out of the shop with a charming present for a friend or myself, be it a pleasant candle or a useful soap that smells also amazing.

My next choice might look odd but it is the little town’s second-hand shop, Sew Ryder, where the prices are never disappointing however the quality is supreme. There is a certain pleasure browsing between things that somebody already loved. There is a whole variety of goods from toys to clothes to utensils, and everything is so elegant and tasteful, you can never find better quality at those prices. I also like the idea of shopping to extend an item life cycle, because they are in perfect condition, just somebody fell out of love with them not to mention they are unique especially the vintage clothing that is no longer made. I leave the shop with milk jug and sugar pot of stainless steel that are so elegant I am tempted to keep them for myself, but they are for a friend’s table.

But Christmas is magical mostly for the kids and cannot forget my daughter at this time of the year. So my next stop would be Toyland where the choice of toys is so big, I should allow an hour or so to find those delightful presents for my little one. There are plastic animals, remote control cars, dolls and Play mobiles, in a few words, it is paradise. It is puzzling what should I get, from the two-story shop where one toy is sitting next to something even better and something even more interesting.

I bought a remote control car and my daughter couldn’t keep her hands off of it, it was amazing present that brought a lot of laughter in our home.

So this is it, a short but meaningful list of my favorite places to spend money around Christmas. Trinkette for the aromatherapy, Sew Ryder for the unbeatable prices and Toyland for the great variety. Christmas is a special time of the year, but I never fail to surprise my love ones with that fantastic gift, when I visit those three places. And when you see the delight on their faces, you are grateful that there are this little shopping gems for selling dreams.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.