Families logo

This Divorce Response : "I'll try" Makes Me Cringe!

Divorce comes with many annoyances.

By Divorce by RosePublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Join our Divorce by Rose Community App ANONYMOUSLY

I'm honestly convinced that I should have studied psychology before I got divorced. And the reason is that I think my life would have been easier. I think I would have understood things better. I would have gone through less trial and errors. And life would have been more peaceful post-divorce. And the one main area that I will never forget and certainly still lingers around a little bit is, when I was married, my ex used to always say, when I ask him to do something or anything like that, his answer was always, "I'll try" or "It should be OK" or "I don't see why not, but I'm not quite sure".

And I used to cringe at the thought why is he always saying a positive-negative response? Why is it not a confident "Yes", or even if you're not sure, something like "I'm not actually sure I could do that, but I'll try and give it my best shot." You know all these, try, try, try, was just so negative. And through many years of self-development and understanding myself better and all that, I came to understand why people say things like that. So one thing that I learned was- when someone says "I'll try" or "It should be OK", it means that they're not confident. They're not confident about that task, they're not confident that they can succeed at it, so they may not even try or put their full focus or all their efforts into it because they just don't think they'll be able to do it anyhow.

So the one thing that I learned through my separation and my divorce also was that my conversations during my marriage were not the same as my conversations during my divorce. And often we tend to want to have the same conversations and the exact same outcomes and I’ll tell you that it's virtually impossible. Why? Because when you're married, you end up in the same place at the end of the day. You're in the same house, you're in the same bedroom hopefully and you still have common goals. When you're divorced, you're in polar opposite ends of the world- kind of in a boxing ring where two opponents are staring each other down, getting ready to fight it out, right? So you have to understand that you should not try to have the same outcomes as you had when you were married. So when I finally understood that I can't have that, I started to change the ways I was thinking, the ways I was looking at it. When I was negotiating with him, or talking with him, and when I heard the words "I'll try" or "It should be OK", I understood that it's not going to get done. And therefore I did not put my hopes up that that thing was going to get done, and I said "I'm not setting up myself for failure therefore I'm going to have to look for another outcome or look for another proposal that makes sense where the answer is going to be a yes".

And until I get a "Yes", I have to know and understand that it will most likely not get done. So when I started to think that way, my life changed because I wasn't worried anymore, I wasn't fighting over the same thing over and over again. Why? Because I wasn't going for the answers of "I'll try" I wasn't accepting those. I was looking for a different, alternate solution. So these are tips and tricks that we talk about in Divorce by Rose, in the Divorce Community APP. Why? Because it took me many years and many gray hairs and a lot of heartache and pain to learn these lessons. And I don't think that you should have to go through all that. And neither do all the coaches, and experts and professionals that are on Divorce by Rose.

The Divorce by Rose Community App was inspired by Ravit Rose: Divorce Coach & Mentor | Author of "Unwanted Nasty Divorces" | Founder of the Divorce by Rose Community App designed for parents who are either contemplating divorce or newly separated and wondering "Should I stay married or should I get divorced"?

We are not pro marriage. We are not pro divorce either. We are a select group of coaches, experts & professionals from various industries offering you realistic strategies and solutions and support to help you find the LOGICAL answers that YOU need to help you decide whether you should stay married or get divorced. And then, regardless of your decision, we provide you with your next steps.

Join us ANONYMOUSLY in this powerful social networking app- simply use a fake & fun name and take advantage of all the 24/7 access to support.

divorced
Like

About the Creator

Divorce by Rose

Divorce by Rose brings together parents who are contemplating divorce or newly separated WITH coaches, experts and professionals who have the tools and strategies to guide you towards finding your answers. https://www.divorcebyrose.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.