Families logo

They Predict Tornados All Day Long

May 12, 2015

By AnessaPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Sunday

Dear Dorothy and the Admiral,

I was going to start out with Mother's Day thoughts, but the sirens went off and they told us all to get in the halls. Tornado was over us. So turned out it didn’t come down – but now I’m hearing reports of damage west of Dimock (my church?) and west of Ethan (our farm?). So far haven’t heard anything from Luke – must not be the farm.

They predict tornados all day long. We had very heavy rain here.

Going back to mothers – I guess I didn’t honor Mom the way I should have. Seems her condition (sick like) did that to me. But that shouldn’t have made any difference. It seems to me that we took care of her a lot? How did we ever take Grandpa Carlson into our house – and Grandma too? Did we all take care of them? I don’t remember Pa ever helping. You remember that we washed clothes and sheets every morning on the porch? We did that – not Mom. I remember giving Grandma something to eat – she was in bed. Remember how we turned her to get the sheet out? We learned that in 4-H.

They are showing some storm damage – a roof blown off a church in Delmont while they were having church inside. Unless somebody outside would run in and say “tornado!” they couldn’t know. Delmont had a lot of damage.

Anyway, I know Mom loved us – she always kept looking at me – she was a sweet person. I don’t remember that I asked Mom for permission to do something, I just did it. I think we just assumed responsibility.

Well, went to 8 o’clock church today. Jane and Jesse dedicated their baby girl. Then I went home. I don’t know what Lukes were going to do.

Signing off for now.

It is now Monday I’m here in Leroy’s room, he is taking a nap. Luke said he didn’t have any damage – didn't know about others. The town of Delmont was about leveled. Very bad. I have a bad sore throat. I’m taking lemon and honey at home but can’t do that here. I have Bible study this afternoon. They will put Leroy to bed again after dinner. That sure seems to alleviate that tiredness. So it’s been real good lately. I wasn’t here yesterday (Sunday) so don’t know what happened. I haven’t seen a hospice person the last few days, but Leroy says she (they?) were here.

Well – all for now – Leroy sat up on the edge of the bed all by himself.

Went to Bible study Monday afternoon. My throat really hurt; I took a cough drop. I went home then and felt sick – shivering. Covered myself with a blanket, gargled with salt water and took two ibuprofens. Must have dozed off because now it’s 9 o’clock. Going to bed. Still don’t feel right. No more cough drops!

Tuesday – I feel like a zombie. I have a sore throat; I’ll stay home today. I have lost my voice.

Later – I thought I felt pretty good but now I don’t. Hate to sit down as I want to do so many things. The refrigerator needs cleaning, carpet needs vacuuming, but I guess that will have to wait. I want them to bring me some rubout, I don’t know when I’ll use it, but it keeps a couple of weeks.

It just doesn’t seem to work – going to Leroy’s and then I come home and I’m so tired. Working at home all day don’t make me tired. Somebody told me doing what you want to do is therapy.

Do you have nursing home insurance? Did Pa ever take out life insurance on you? He did for me; I think I was about 15 or so. Well anyway, I never could pay the premium, so they said, just take it as paid up insurance and then the interest will pay the premium. So, I had it all these years and it will bury me and lots more. New York Life Insurance.

Well, I sewed this morning, was so much fun. I felt awful but sewed anyway. Now it’s after dinner and I’m freezing, so sitting in my chair with a blanket. Maybe I’m sick.

Later – really felt sick, but the heat on on my chair. I took two pain pills – felt better. Watched Bonanza on the TV. Nice show – I never had TV on in the afternoon. My bed is still covered with quilt blocks. Guess I’ll have to pick them up – won’t sew no more today.

Wednesday – I was sure sick yesterday – a sore throat that makes you feel like a zombie. I couldn’t get enough blankets to cover me. So I called Leroy and said I couldn’t come today. I’m sitting here resting (only 9:00). Here I am at home and can’t do much. I have to do laundry and change my bed which for me is quite a job. I don’t know if you care for my day to day description.

Afternoon. Got my bed done and laundry. Now I’m resting. Still feel awful.

Well I better conclude this sick letter. It’s already 8 o’clock. I ate a slice of jelly bread for supper. I don’t think I’ll be going to Leroy tomorrow; this virus won’t be over that quick. I’m out of milk and jelly and other things. I will have to go to the grocery store tomorrow.

I just read that you should never take a nap for more than 30 minutes. Otherwise you will feel groggy and not as rested. I sometimes nap for more than an hour. When I come home from Leroy, I will have to set a timer. Man – how I wasted my day here – could have made a quilt top – so nothing.

Friday is Luke’s birthday. I bought some cans of blueberry pie filling. I want to make a blueberry torte. I usually make the cake for birthdays only this year I didn’t make one for my birthday – and guess what – there was no cake!

Well, you won’t get this before Saturday. Tomorrow is already Thursday.

I wrote this letter on my lap – that's why the writing is so bad.

Love you and Will,

Big Sister

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.