Families logo

God Will Give Me What I Need

January 21, 2016

By AnessaPublished 6 months ago 7 min read
Like

Hello Lil’ Sis & Lil’ Will,

Just got done with morning chores – picking up the rooms, etc. So am sitting down with my first glass of H2O. So hard for me to drink water. Since I’ve been putting on Maggie’s stuff (ointment), I’m sleeping pretty good, don’t wake up with terrible pain, but my arms are still sore – like can’t reach behind me (like pulling up my pants – very important!). I read on my old Mentholatum jar – that's old – Leroy used it on the farm yet – well anyway – it says the same thing that Maggie’s remedy says. It dawned on me – why didn’t I go to the health store?

Well I thought this morning would bake some pumpkin bars – but only Thursday so I’ll wait until Saturday. Lukes will take some. But it’s supposed to be below 0° again Sunday. I’ll go to Luke’s church if my carpool doesn’t go to Hillside. I have to do laundry too, but I guess this morning I’ll sew.

I got a letter from Mary that says she and Wayne went to “Star Wars”. I guess I can’t imagine them going to that. Maybe I can convince one of my grandchildren to take me? Interesting isn’t it. I think she wrote and said they need more social life? I did sew this morning. Thought I’d finish a quilt top today, but instead of Bible study – turned out to be a surprise birthday party for one of the staff. Had ice cream cake and coffee. So now I’m here, out of the mood of sewing. It’s 4:45. Have to put my stuff away.

Friday

Talked to you.

Saturday

Did two loads of laundry. Talked to a lady that said she ironed her jeans. I hardly ever iron, only when Leroy was home – his shirts.

In the afternoon I finished a quilt top. So now am ready to do another one. Then I took a nap and went to bed. Had to take a sleeping pill. But my arthritis didn’t bother either. Oh yes, I baked pumpkin bars and put cream cheese frosting and nuts on top. I ate two pieces.

Sunday

Below 0° so my carpool didn’t go to church. I listened to Pastor Salem and started to listen to First Lutheran in Sioux Falls. Well I have no idea what happened, but I had to go to the bathroom. When I got back, was a different program on, thought power went off, no, then I thought I had wrong station, so weird. Then I looked at my cell phone – it said 12:00 – noon. I must of slept through First Lutheran church from the start. How could that happen? And you don’t even know it? Well – had cooked some neck bones – and now am putting veggies in it. I read on the barley box that you can put garlic, bay leaf in – I'm afraid to put that all in – ruin the flavor. It’s weak in flavor already (too little meat).

If Lukes came to church they didn’t stop here – so I guess I’ll take some of the pumpkin bars to the card room. I better check my soup.

Well this just isn’t my day. I turned the burner too low, so didn’t cook at all. Also went to Bible study at 1:30 and they quit at 1:45, due to some emergency.

Monday

TV just said it was 32° in Duluth, MN – where Trent is. I had a pretty good night. I didn’t put any salve on and some pain came back. I wonder if a person has to put this stuff on all the time? I’m cooking potatoes for dumplings for my beauty (hair) girl. She said her grandmother used to make them. I’m going to peel apples for pie. Had some in the fridge. They are getting soft. Then have to do paper work – have some bills to pay, etc. My soup turned out good, so froze some of it. Didn’t hear from Jacob – it's 7° now. I hope he went back on Sunday afternoon.

Well, got my apples peeled and cut enough for two pies. I should have done that days ago – some had bruises. And I got the potatoes cooked and riced ready to make dumplings. Maybe I’ll do that this afternoon. Those potatoes – they were in a bucket in the lobby. I guess nobody was interested in them. A store must have brought them. Then I shoe mopped the floor at the cupboard – used a paper towel.

Well, I’m sitting here – 11:30, didn’t get to the paper work – thinking about dinner. I sure don’t like that sweet corn that’s frozen. It seems to be so hard. Homegrown is so tender and tastes a lot better. Wish I could make some next year. I buy frozen veggies instead of canned. And canned tomatoes don’t have the flavor that home grown does.

Now I’m going through two weeks of mail. Paid three donations. That’s all I think I can afford. My social security check doesn’t cover my bills. I have to dip into the savings. I give 10% to church and these donations are extra. I should give something up, like beauty shop. I could stand under the shower and then just blow dry it so it looks fluffy. Or I could quit buying stuff to bake with and cook. But I think God will give me what I need. And we are supposed to give to the poor. Not keep it for ourselves.

Well, I put my dumplings into the freezer. They look good. I’m still in my mail, check the bank statement yet. I figure I did a lot today, but didn’t get my nap in. So I hope I don’t fall asleep before I go to bed. Tomorrow I have to get up early to be at doctors office for a check up. I have to fast. 8:30 a.m. I think I’ll drive – it's supposed to be above 0° tomorrow. So Big Sis signing off.

Tuesday

Back from doctors office. He gave me a shot, said it might help and it’s ok if I use the salve. So I checked out ok, but gained five pounds. I have to quit eating my desserts, I guess. So ate breakfast, and studied part of a chapter in Luke. I think I will sew now. Well, this isn’t my day. First I had to broom off the snow on the car. And when I was driving the interior of the car all steamed over. Well it got bad and I had to stop the car to see which button I had to push to get the steam off the windows. I couldn’t pull over because I couldn’t see the curb. But lucky no car was behind me – I didn’t think, but I put my blinkers on to let them know that I was stopped. Well I figured it out, but I only made a small hole to look through by the time I got to the doctors. I had no idea that this might happen. God was sure taking care of me.

Well, after breakfast I sewed quilt tops. But once I had to rewind the bobbin, soon after I realized I was sewing on the wrong end. So had to rip that all off. Then soon after, had a section too short – minus one block. So I quit and had a coffee break. So here I am sitting and watching CNN. Talking about Trump. I think I’ll take a nap.

Well, Luke & Maggie came. I told her the salve she sent for my arthritis really did the job. I’m 75% better. This is something she sent for from home remedies. Some odd sounding herbs, etc. But it works – Doc said it was ok. Well they stayed a while, Luke ate ice cream bars and I sent the rest of the bars home with them. Doctor called and said my white blood cell count is too high. Wants to see me in a month. I had that last summer and the cancer doctor said not to worry – just watch it. I think I’ll have an ice cream bar and banana for supper – I really should stop sweets, just eat fruits and veggies. I looked at dried apricots in the store but they were about $8 a pound. My mouth waters every time you mention coffee break with zucchini bread. But I’m going to bake corn bread again. I found out it tastes really good with butter – no syrup. Your letter was good. I usually read them later again. Will really likes his cookies, doesn’t he? I don’t eat cookies right now. Don’t appeal to me.

Love you and the Honorable Admiral,

Big Sis

siblings
Like

About the Creator

Anessa

A witness to God's grace.

Lover of words, nature, and healing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.