Families logo

The Worst Second Date

Short story

By Ada ZubaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Worst Second Date
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Dating is always a bit of a nightmare, especially when it comes to online dating. The first date with Nate went great. We met up at an Earl’s restaurant and we laughed a lot. I found him to be a charming, smart and very well-rounded individual. He was in medical school, yet he had his own place. Since the first date went so well, he invited me over to his house to have thanksgiving and it would be a great second date as my family lives out of town and it did not make sense for us to meet up for a weekend, when we would rather spend money on Christmas. I agreed to have Thanksgiving with him. However, I failed to realize, it would be his entire family. He gave me the address to the house and I knew right off the bat that it was an expensive neighborhood. I knew his family was made of money as this was disclosed to me on our first date. No, that is not why it went well. Anyways, I bought a brand-new dress and I looked good, did my hair and make-up, so it was subtle, yet perfect. I pulled up in front of the house and I was astounded to see the amount of cars that were parked in front of the house, there must have been around thirty or fifteen. I stepped out of the car. And proceeded to the house, the house sat on a large lawn with an ornament in the middle. The sidewalk was cleaned off to perfection. Not a drop of snow on it. I got to the front of the house and I was greeted at the door by a group of strangers.

“Hey! Charmaine I’m glad you came,” he said as he hugged me.

“Mom! Dad! This is Charmaine, my girlfriend,” he called throughout the house. How was I his girlfriend? We went out on one date. That was it, one date and now I was his girlfriend?

“Hello Charmaine, I am Beth and this is George, we are Nate’s parents, it’s so nice to meet you,” said his mother, she had some gray hair and it was tied into a tight bun, his father looked good for his age, as if the gym is where he lived with gray hair speckling his black hair.

“It’s a pleasure,” I said, squeezing a smile.

“Come you must meet all the cousins,” They said and before I could respond I was dragged into a group of people and names were tossed at me, I barely could keep up. I met family member after family member and I could not remember a single name. I pulled Nate aside.

“What the hell is this?” I hissed at him.

“You said you wanted to come,” he said innocently.

“This is a second date and I’ve met your whole family. I am also not your girlfriend!” I hissed again.

“What?”

“We’ve been on one date,” I said to him. “How do you think this is appropriate?” I asked him.

“I don’t know, do you not like my family? Is this what it is about?” he said slowly raising his voice.

“I am not your girlfriend! This is all too much for me!” I could feel my face getting hot and red. The room had gone completely silent. Everyone was staring at me.

“Is it true Nate?” asked his mom.

“Yes, we went out on one date! That does not make me his girlfriend!” I shouted.

“You are more than welcome to leave, if you are not comfortable,” said Nate. I grabbed my purse and headed for the door. “You know what, you don’t have family here, just stay for dinner and you do not have to be my girlfriend,” he said and he looked at me earnestly.

“I just made a fool of myself, I have not one intention of staying. You cannot go around announcing that I am your girlfriend, I have never been so humiliated. Don’t bother calling me or texting me,” I said and I rushed out of the house. Tears were falling down my face as I got into my car and drove off. That was possibly the worst thanksgiving ever.

extended family
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.