Families logo

The thing about hitting puberty...

a lonely journey.

By cringysamPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

"Parents are your best friend" ain't that amazing? Let's be honest, no matter how close you think you are with them, you're NOT, or at least not me. I consider myself being pretty close to my parents given the fact that they got married and had kids at a fairly young age, they're like my friends, the kind of friend that lures the secrets outta your mouth and overwhelm you with their so called opinion, for weeks. My mom is so proud of the fact that she thinks we tell her EVERYTHING and often shows off to her friends saying something like "My daughters share everything with me, I know it's so cool right? We're almost like sisters and I guess this is the benefit by getting married early blahblahblah" Yeah you're right, ALMOST, this is when i put on my awkward social mask and smile like my face is twitching while my inner devil is actually throwing a party knowing that she only knows what I choose to let her know. VICTORY. Knowing exactly how and how much to share is an art because the line between getting all the help you need and getting into trouble is hella thin and I'm telling you, you don't want no trouble. Here’s an example, I told my patents that I started writing on Vocal and stopped right before they could ask about what the content is, which is THEM obviously. Now the tricky part is that how far I go determines what kind of reaction I’m getting, is it “Aww honey I’m so proud of you! I always knew there’s something in you!” or “Young lady we need to talk.” See? Parents are like malfunctioned fire alarms, they could be completely cool about the situation despite the feeling that they’re gonna snap and come at you like it’s no one else’s business the second they sense something wrong, which is totally up to each of their sensibilities. This concept came even clearer after I hit puberty, if you have no idea why let me put it this way, as long as you hit puberty the problem is no longer “Jeffery keeps teasing me” but “Jeffery keeps teasing me because he likes me” cherry on the top. This is the point when you start looking for advices from whomever you could get in touch with, your bff, your teachers, the girl or boy next door and even the psychic on YouTube, last but not least your daddy and mommy. Now if you have open-minded, supportive parents, lucky you, but if you happen to have overpowering parents just like I do, what’s gonna happen is that they’re gonna make sure that you do whatever they want you to even if you already have an answer deep down since they apparently know what’s best for you. That means that Jessica who already has a boyfriend gotta go, Joyce the school counselor? Gotta go, that Amanda who encourages you to study art and talk to Jeffery? Absolutely no. The worst part is that the second you disobey them they'll start pulling this fine-do-whatever-you-want attitude to make you feel guilty or question your ability of decision making (trust me this never gets old) but actually that’s called having your own damn opinion, there's nothing wrong with that and you certainly shouldn't feel stupid about it. Not until I hit puberty have I realized how glad I am to not have them on my side, it feels like some sorta switch in my body turned on and all of the sudden I just want to do whatever they told me I shouldn’t, there’s this time I decided to put on face mask right before my mom asked me to, suddenly this voice whispered to me “Mission Abort." so I ended up following my instinct. Why? It’s almost like an epiphany when the answer popped up in my mind, we have been deeply convinced that everything they do or want us to do is for the best since we were kids, so they went with the same trick over and over again even til we finally grew up with our own secrets and thoughts developing, they somehow forget that we no longer pee our pants and believe in Santa so that they could continually force their opinions through, the only difference now is that we are tired of being treated this way, that's why. Please don't get me wrong I do love my parents even though they could be incredibly annoying sometimes, all I want to say is that it is ok if talking to your parents is what you desire but it is also completely fine if you choose to take all the time you need to sort things out even if that means you have to keep secrets or seek advice from others, even if that means we're gonna make mistakes and learn from them. It is our journey, we're the one who's steering our ship, cleaning up the vomits and discovering the treasures, not Jessica, not Amanda, not them. Say we are taught not to stay with any guy who makes us feel stupid then why should we feel stupid for not following our parent's footsteps? This ain't rocket science and we are no rebellions knowing what we actually need, we are just unraveling life by taking different routes. If I hurt your feelings, I'm sorry, I meant no harm and wish the best for all of you but like i said, you always have a choice, you don't have to do what I said if you're not vibing with me, just DO YOU, the heart wants what it wants. Puberty can be really tricky sometimes, It's like that Jeffery who sends you mixed signals, but at the end of the day we all learn from it and appreciate whatever it has brought us, hopefully we will pass on the wit and become those people we used to picture in our mind as we sail further into the unknown.

parents
Like

About the Creator

cringysam

I feel like shit all the time but I like it.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.