Families logo

The Story of a Hero I call Dad

By: Robert Archer

By Robert ArcherPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo of Author

In comics there are super heroes and villains, in real life, I would say my greatest super hero is my step dad who has done everything to take care of me and my mom. This man has been through some rough times when my mom first married him because me and my siblings were not understanding what was going on at the time as myself and my siblings were only, 6, 5, and 13 at the time we moved in. As time moved on I realized that he was trying to raise us to be better so that we won’t turn out bad. Even though the man is a strong silent type, I always knew that he loved us in his own way. I know that he keeps a roof over our head, he feeds and waters us, he makes sure everything around the house is in working order, and he protects us from anyone who wants to hurt us.

My step dad became my hero the moment I moved in and realized he was really stepping up to be a good dad. He told me how he was a policeman so that I would be more comfortable around him. I always like to ask how his day was and I remember when I used to ask, “ have you caught any bad guys today” every time he came home from work. My step dad has been so much of an inspiration to me that I told him I wanted to work with him some day and that I will be the best policeman he’s ever seen.

While growing up with him my step dad would come home from work tired and exhausted, like I said before I always had to ask, “ have you caught any bad guys yet dad?” He would crack a smile and say, “ no not today” I never knew how exhausted he was until I started working on my own. He finds it funny when I start saying I’m just as exhausted when I get off work. Sometimes I think I grew up to be more like my step dad than I have my actual father. I think this because I know my step dad has taught me to be a better man by teaching me right and wrong at an early age. I appreciate him for everything he has done for me.

Even though my step dad may not be super, he is still a hero to me. I know every day he is out saving lives with the job that he does and keeping people safe just as he keeps us safe every day. Sometimes, I feel like we grew up too fast, and I know he knows we grew up too fast, as if he blinked and all three of us were already working at our respective jobs. Sometimes, I wish we could go back in time to the days we were children again so him and mom can spend more time enjoying our childhood.

He may be my step dad, but he deserves the title “father” because he took the responsibility of stepping up and being a dad to us. Everyday, good or bad, he always loved us as if we were his own children. It may have taken a couple of tries, but he definitely accepted the role and succeeded greatly at it.

To all the father heroes out there, hug your children close and tell them you love them, because one day you are going to blink and all of your kids will be full grown adults and you are going to wish you spent more time with them.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Robert Archer

My name is Robert Archer, I always had a hobby In writing I just never published any work yet. I feel like vocal has given me a good way to express my stories I write so now everyone can see them when I write them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.