Families logo

The Princess and The Dad

Cinderella Everyday

By Lauren J. BennettPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like

My dad, Richard Garner, was born on June 17, 1965, to a family of seven children in Richmond, Virginia. When he was about thirteen, he left home and began working and taking care of himself.

I had only ever known my dad to be a landscaper. He is incredible at both, but the one thing they have in common is his fantastic work ethic. That work ethic and eye for color ended up landing some of his projects in a few magazines in the early 2000s (Southern Living and Better Homes and Gardens). Then in 2016, one of his projects was featured in the Greater Tampa Bay.

When we moved to Plant City, Florida, the house we ended up with didn't have a yard. By that I mean it was all dirt. There wasn't any grass or flowers, not even weeds. So every night for almost a month, my dad would bring home extra supplies his boss let him have and he created not only a lawn but an entire garden and made our house look like a home (and not creepy and haunted).

When my dad wasn't landscaping, he was selling cars (which he was also really good at). I blame him for the fact that I can sell someone anything, even an idea. He worked for several lots both new cars and used cars. And he usually did the job of multiple people. He has experience with finance, web design, and social media.

Whenever my dad decided he wanted to do something, he made sure he was good at it. My dad sees value in himself and wants to make sure that other people see his value, too.

I'd like to say that my work ethic, as well as my sense of style, came from my dad. I moved in with him when I was thirteen and stayed until nineteen. He taught me much about work, responsibility, and family during that time. I'd never known my dad not to take care of his family.

If nothing else, my dad ensured I had everything I needed: school clothes, shoes, medicine, doctor visits, or the perfect dress for that school dance.

In fact, one of my favorite things about my childhood is the times my dad made me feel like a real-life princess. The pink skirt with the cute, sparkly belt I was in love with when I was four (yes, I still remember that). When he took my sister and me to Walmart and told us we could get five things we wanted, I got all the toys I'd been begging for.

Even the Christmas that I opened all my presents to find a whole new wardrobe I'd been wanting (which I totally rocked my senior year of high school). But the one memory that I will never forget is the night my dad made me feel like I really was a princess. Not just as a kid but as a young lady that was about to be an adult.

My school had a tradition called Beau Dance, which honored the male students by naming a Beau King. It was a big deal every year, and this year was special because I was about to graduate. It was also the night before my eighteenth birthday, which meant I would legally be an adult when the dance was over at twelve.

My dad took me to the mall, and we spent hours trying on dresses at different stores. We eventually found a small store that sold nothing but party dresses that were super cute and very chic. The sad thing is that the store doesn't exist anymore (at least not in my town).

I think we went through a few dresses before settling on this dark red, almost burgundy-colored dress with silver sequins all over it. It was one of those dresses you'd be afraid to wash because all the sequins might melt off. The dress was one of those skin-tight ones that hug your body.

It came down to about mid-thigh and wrapped around my neck, leaving my shoulders and the top of my back visible. My dad also bought me a small sparkly clutch that matched my sequins so I would have something to put my phone in and silver shoes that added a little shine. Then we went and had my hair, nails, and toes done.

One of the hardest parts of a dad's experience is watching their daughters grow up to become women. When we are growing up, we don't see it the same way that our dads, moms, or other family members do. I never realized it until I started watching my nieces and nephew get older and would think back to when I was changing their diapers and playing barbies and trucks.

But there were always glimpses of that with my dad. Most of the time I was just his daughter nagging or asking for Mountain Dew money, but then there were times that I could see it in his eyes that it was hitting him how much I've grown. Moments like Beau dance or Prom when I came walking down the hall looking like a princess, or when I would hit milestones of age.

My first period, my first boyfriend, my first job, my first paycheck, my first bank account, and when I moved out. Even when I got married and he walked me down the aisle. But no matter how old I've gotten, he has never ceased to make me feel special.

One of the best things a dad can do is make their daughters feel like royalty, even if they don't come from a royal family.

The project that made it into the Greater Tampa Bay

parents
Like

About the Creator

Lauren J. Bennett

Published author, licensed massage therapist, and double major in Criminal Justice and Philosophy. I have 4 dogs and my car is named after my favorite character on finding Nemo. Fish are friends, not food. Read my stuff. With love, Lauren.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.