Families logo

The nightmare I had become my reality.

The day I had to say Goodbye but wasn't ready to let go.

By Krystal RowdenPublished 4 years ago 9 min read
1

It was around the first of the year Feb or March of 2003, I was only 13. My mother and I lived in town in a mobil trailer. My mothers room was at one end of the trailer and My room was at the other end. She says I scared her, I imagine It would have scared anyone, I woke her up screaming in my sleep. She ran to my room and started shaking me saying "krystal, baby wake up It's just a bad dream". I remeber I was drenched in sweat, crying and shaking. My mother was standing at the side of my bed, trying to get me to come fully awake and realize It was a bad dream, the whole time she was telling me "It was ok I was just having a bad dream." I got awake looked up at her, she said "baby are you ok?" What did you dream?" she said; I just looked at her for a min and then My reply was "I had a dream daddy died momma!" she said; "oh baby Its ok, Its was just a bad dream.

I got up out of the bed for a sec and then I laided back down, but soon as I woke up the next morning I called my father and told him I had a bad dream. I told him I had dreamed he had died, he replied " oh baby don't you worry about daddy" " I'm going to be ok there is nothing going to happen to me" he said. I listened to him and said "ok daddy, I love you" and he replied with "I love you to baby". I was a daddys little girl, he took me hunting, fishing, and I rode on the back of his motorcycle everywhere with him. I stayed with my father I was a daddys little girl. I enjoyed listening to him play his electric guitar his fingers would roll on one end and he would pick on the other end. I remember when he spoke It was words of wisdom and sometimes they didnt always make sense at the time but later on in life they did.

I never thought that much about that dream after that, but that was the last year I would have with my father. The last birthday cake I would bake him, the last few months I spent with him was wonderful I just wish I could have had more time with him. I felt like he was took to soon, They were things that I hadnt accomplished yet and I wanted him to see it.

There I sat in front of the phone, watching the little red light by the caller id blink and hearing the phone buzzing still echoes in my head. My mother yelling from the bedroom, answer the phone, Krystal. I'm getting it mom, 'hello' I said, it was my aunt on the other line asking for my mother. I yelled; mom it's for you.

She took the phone and off into the bedroom she went, I never moved from the chair. She wasn't on the phone long and didn't take her but a second, she was back standing in front of me.

Krystal, it's your dad, she said he's been in a car accident. They had to life flight him, my heart sunk into my stomach, I couldn't breathe I couldn't believe my ears, what I was hearing.

NO, I said No not my daddy I hadn't talked to him in 3 days because I was upset with him, I had lost my puppy about 2 or 3 weeks before and wanted another puppy n he said No. I was gonna call him the day he wrecked to tell him, I'm sorry dad n I love you. The words I wish I had told him sooner words that would haunt me forever.

The ride to the hospital was normally a 2 - 2.5 hour drive from where we lived, but it didn't take us but 1 hr and 30 min to get there. My brothers, met my mother and me at the hospital along with us came my mother's boyfriend. My parents separated when I was 5. They were still really close though, throughout the years. I would stay with mom some and then go to dads too. I was a daddy's little girl, I was the only girl out of 5 children total. I had 4 brothers, 2 of them and me had the same father but I had a different mother than my 2 brothers then I had 2 brothers with the same mother but different fathers. My mother lost a son when he was 7 months old and My other brother My father helped raise him. My father was well known in our hometown.

November 13th, 2003 was the day things changed dramatically for my family, the day we will never forget. He was Tall had black curly hair with brown eyes, he had a darker complexion about him, guess it was Cherokee Indian in him. His grandmother was full-blooded. He was a laid back hard worker kept to his self, minded his own business, paid his debt. I can remember growing up how much he enjoyed outdoor activities, he took me fishing with him since I was ah, a baby; once I fell into the river cause I wouldn't leave the worms alone he had for bait. I kept leaning over the side of the boat until I took a lean a little too far, I had a life jacket on.

When they had gotten my father stabilized, they came out to the waiting area, told us to come on back. I remember walking to his bed you could see him before we got there, the floor they had him on was the trauma unit it was one big room, once you went through the double doors; by the nurse station.

I could see his eyes shut, this big thing shaped like a square around his head it was metal. They called it a halo, He had tubes running from everywhere and he wasn't moving. The doctors were talking to my Aunt, brothers and my mom. I couldn't bear to look at him unresponsive, I have never seen anything like it; it makes matter worst when its someone you love and hold dear to your heart. There my fathered laid lifeless, I was in shock I didnt want to believe what my eyes where seeing. I had never seen him in such an awful state I climbed upon the side of the bed where he was laid unresponsive and began to shake him saying, "Daddy wake up please".

There was no reply, no movement, no blinking I mean nothing, the only thing keeping my father alive was the machines. I leaned over into his ear and sung him our song, "when you say nothing at all," by: alison krauss. Later they moved him on from the open room to a more private room. We stayed right by his side unless they told us they had to do more test or another surgery then we would leave the room go out to the waiting area, patiently waiting for them to return with the some good news of how he was doing.

I remember the moment they came in the waiting room and said they was sorry he was bleeding on the brain, he was also brain dead on the part of his brain that told his body when to respond and their was nothing more they could do. My father had wrecked coming home from Maury Ohio it was a plant that made lawn mowers and parts. He had fell asleep coming home from work and Hit a duely truck head on. He wasnt wearing his seatbelt and he was doing around 60 mph he hit the guy in the duely truck head on. My dads car spun around in a circle before coming to a rest facing the opposite way landing off the shoulder of the road. The car caught on fire, someone on the scene pulled my father from the wreckage and they transported him to the local hospital where they perpared him for lifeflight. They then took him to Nashville tn, to the big hospital Vanderbilit Medical Center.

He was hooked up to life support and tons of other machines to keep him alive. I know after we all got to the hospital and seen him. We all went back out to the waiting room, I had went to the restroom and when I came out I came around the corner of the hall there stood My two brothers they were arguing. The oldest brother was telling the younger brother something, then I heard my older brother tell the oldest brother "dad was never coming out of the hospital." He was into bad of a shape, I walked up beside the both of them and remeber saying " both of you stop it now this isnt the place to do this at and I looked at them both and said yes he will make it out of here dont ever say that again." They both looked at me and hushed we then left the hallway and went back in the back to see my father.

They had put a metal rod in his right side and done another surgery. Then thats when the news came we had to make a decision we had to take him off the life support or put him in a nursing home. My fathers wishes was If something ever happened to him and he couldnt care for his self then let him go. I remeber we was all around him and I was in a chair holding his hand. They was cousins their, My mom, my brothers and my dads sister.

I remeber looking over at my father as he took 3 long quivering breaths and My brother looked over dad he said" thats it he's gone ." I then hit the floor screaming and crying a cousin of my picked me up took me to the waiting room couch, I was hypervenilating. I remeber I wished It was a dream, I didnt want it to be real he left us to soon. I was only 13, I still had things I wanted him to be their to see me accompolish. I know he might have not been there physically but I believe he was still there watching me as I graduated high school, got married and when each one of my children was born. I tell my children about him and what a wonderful grandpa they had.

Dont ever take anyone or anything for granted, we never know when we will lose them. Love unconditionally, forgive easy, and enjoy every moment you have with the ones you love and hold dear to your heart. Remember we will see them again one day and hold onto that knowing they may not be here physically but they live on through us. I hope you enjoyed this true story.

grief
1

About the Creator

Krystal Rowden

I'm 28 years old I'm the youngest and only girl out of 5 children. I live in Tennessee I'm married and have 4 children. I love spending time with my children and family. I love music, out door activities and my brothers dog Blue.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.