Families logo

The Most Valuable Lessons My Father Taught Me About Life

Every father is a role model for his son and my father is no exception.

By Sharad GuptaPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
The Most Valuable Lessons My Father Taught Me About Life
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Our parents hold the highest preference in our life.

We always should feel proud of them as they not only gave us this life but they are the architect of our future too.

Parent’s love is always unconditional and they never ask you a favor in return.

We all go through different phases in our life and childhood is the most precious one.

I remember being pampered by my mother when I needed her and my father to give valuable lessons directly or indirectly.

We observe them in our childhood and unknowingly build their qualities within us, good or bad.

Parents have the greatest impact on the future life we are going to spend.

They nurture us like we are delicate flowers and try to grow us a wonderful personality.

It depends on our father what we are going to be in the future because generally a father is supposed to be a bread earner in the house (though things have been changed today)

Parental qualities –

Mothers can be soft and rigid at a time but the father is always soft towards his children. (Rare cases we see otherwise) As I mentioned earlier, we see our father as a role model when we think about our professional careers.

Usually, children follow in their father’s footsteps and dream to become one like a father.

Here a father is a person who guides us on what is right for us and what we should not choose and inspiration comes from mother.

Though I want to discuss what my father taught me, it is impossible to ignore the mother’s role in our life.

It is also said that a single mother can grow her children better than a single father. This is not to underestimate a mother’s affection but to highlight the father’s teaching.

I want to discuss what I learned from my father –

Take each moment as a learning moment

I remember my father was not able to spend more time with us due to his dual job. He was caring but he had to do two jobs to raise us properly.

As we grew up to understand the world, it was my father who insisted that I learn every moment in my life as new learning. Life teaches us a lot but it is up to us how much we can learn.

Lessons taught by life are much harsh than our educational lessons in books.

I prepared myself to adopt any condition coming my way and started my learning process.

My father also insisted that I improve upon each teaching by life else it is a waste of teaching.

I resemble my father more in my acceptance and behavior in my life. He never said but proved with his behavior to be normal but strong in hard times.

This is where my father started being a role model for me.

Focus on your goals

My father never gave us verbal lessons about what to do in life but he was a living example set to us to follow in his footsteps.

He never forced me on a particular goal but guided me to stick to my goal and never quit come what may.

Keep trying and one day you will succeed was the lesson he taught me through his living.

His lifestyle was very simple as he was focused on his goal to give us better than what he got in his life.

This was a new direction he gave to my life when I started to plan my life.

Good parents would never push us to complete what they want us to do but would encourage us in doing what we planned.

He never used his weightage to influence to set up my career but always backed me morally with valuable guidance.

Fortunate are those who get full support from their parents.

Along with support, extend practical advice to people

He never gave me false promises or assurance about what he can’t give me.

There was a crystal clear message about what he has for us and not some good-goody words of any results.

Along with the moral support, he advised us whenever we needed it but never interfered in our life.

Letting us achieve success, though small ones, was his way of backing us and that cannot be measured in any unit.

If he thought we are on the wrong path he always came forward to put things right for us.

Remarkable thing is, he did it calmly without being panic like most fathers do.

Calm, ever patient to face any circumstances were the best qualities I saw in him.

How we need to support and advise proper things to people was the important thing I learned.

Preparation is key to success

The teaching of facing every moment of life equally was learning I implemented when I faced the outside world, be it a college or profession.

I used to remind myself to be prepared for new things which I have not faced in my life earlier.

Being prepared reduces a lot of stress in our life.

As my father was sharing with me what he did in which situation, it helped me immensely to be prepared.

Though we cannot judge which problems are coming our way, if we are ready to accept the fact, we will get some time to prepare and the eleventh-hour frantic state of mind can be avoided.

The things my father executed practically in his life gave me the strength to stay ahead with the solutions for the problems.

Every level up in my life went in a smooth way without any hiccups. That is entirely my father’s credit which makes me proud.

I now try to duplicate it with my daughter.

Importance of family and friends

In this world full of people, our family and friends are the ones we know much better.

If we are good with our family and friends we are sure to get every support whenever we need it.

Our family is going to help us in crisis and not the people we are not familiar with.

This is a very simple fact about life but a lot of people do not value it.

There will be a difference of opinions and clashes in the families internally which are not needed at all.

Things may go wrong if members keep their egos and go away from others.

I fail to understand why we need to lose our people for some silly reasons when they are the biggest support system of our life.

On the contrary, we need to value our family and friends the most.

My father, being busy with his all-day schedule, was unable to spend much time with us but he always ensured to spend his holidays with us.

He insisted we grow together and live together.

As time demanded we separated due to professions, but remained connected regularly and extended ourselves in a crunch situation.

Valued contribution to my life

Apart from these big lessons, I learned a whole lot of small things which are as important as most other things.

In my life, I followed my father’s footsteps and was able to gain most of his qualities right in me.

I learned to lead by example and feel happy that I helped many people to get successful.

I allowed them to understand the major principles which will make their life set.

My father left a non-erasable impression on my life which helped me to help other people to get their things right.

He also brought us to a safe line of life and awarded us a further journey of our choice.

I learned this leadership and carried it on with me. He set us great values to teach and I am determined to hand over the flagship to the next generation.

I would like to put forward some small ethics which I took from my father.

I want to pen down the short but important lessons I learned from my father –

• You are never too old to learn

• Time is the most valuable resource.

• Support the family, friends, and community.

• You are capable of doing anything you focus on.

• Procrastination is not at all a cool thing.

• Life is learning and the truth will teach me much more about myself.

• I learned that education is not to be taken lightly.

• I learned that owing the responsibility gives us independence.

• He taught me correct grammar and spelling, the importance of language.

• I learned to remain happy in all situations and laugh at self if others are pleased.

• He taught me to manage my money when I started my job.

• He taught me to show love whenever it is possible.

• I learned to be grateful to God for giving me such a good life.

• I learned that distance won’t reduce the affection within the family and the importance of staying connected with people.

• In our crisis, we always feel the support of our fathers.

• I learned to be simple, honest, and polite towards the people and giving respect to elders.

• It is nice to be important but it is more important to be nice.

• He gifted me two important traits, humanity and confidence.

• He insisted that I be more improved than the previous day.

• He taught me that love is the foundation of the fundamental family.

• I used to learn something new between the school years to connect the previous year to the next.

• He taught me to use words carefully as they are too costly to waste. (Now I know what it meant)

• I learned to have smart people around me so that I can improve upon my knowledge.

• He taught me to be flexible in life and accept any challenge that comes my way.

• I learned to accept rejections in my life and that made me determined to improve myself.

• I saw him always busy and that led to teaching me to be active.

• He treated me as valuable so I would replicate the same with my daughter.

• He forced me to have new experiences in life so I was able to stay on my own.

• I learned how to do simple maintenance works at home.

• He taught me to celebrate my success in full swing without bothering about others.

• I learned to dress according to the situation.

• I learned to never be in debt and made a habit to return what I borrow.

• He asked me to make numerous friends in life.

• I learned to be confident in what I am.

Father, the second god of life –

It would not be wrong to say that father is a mentor, friend, second god, and a go-to person of everybody’s life.

Once you have a great bond with your father you don’t have to worry much about the hurdles in life.

Father’s role in our life changes as we grow because of his multiple qualities.

As we are in our childhood, we fear him out of respect, but as we grow we become more aware of him and start a new bonding as a mentor.

He starts developing our character the way it needs to be. He works as a sculptor to mold us on the right path.

He treated me like his colleague and starts mentoring him to make him ready for the professional future.

We can also avail his knowledge and study about his work ethic to become successful in his life.

My father used to guide me during my exams, encouraged me to take part in other activities, and in a way built preparation for my career.

Our parents are everything in our life; we must be grateful towards them as well as take benefit of their expertise to build our careers to become a success.

We learn valuable lessons from our father and can develop our careers. My father is also a role model for me with respect to treating one’s wife.

My father led an example by treating my mother with respect and equivalent to him.

This was a great lesson for me and I would remember it forever.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Sharad Gupta

I am a passionate writer.

My interest include fashion, relationship, health , life , make money, dating , digital marketing , education , career, parenting , Investment and many more .

My aim is Read , Write and Help.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.