Families logo

The magic of JOY in the city!

Unique and fun fairygardens @twobirdsboston

By Maria McKnightPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
"Our fairy friends are very creative little sprites"

So excited!! This weekend I will be installing my second fairy garden in a local Dorchester Park for families to enjoy. The theme will be a frog that is hosting a violin concert for all of his fairy, gnome & forest friends. Weather permitting! This time I am adding an interactive activity to encourage family bonding by reading a book about some musically talented and funny animals. I am also placing a small violin and a tree stump chair for sitting. That way parents can read to children or if they have ‘the gift’ play the violin for them. I’ve been visiting this empty tree stump on walks with my dog Polo since February and thinking about how I can design it. Each time I pass by I would throw rocks and sticks or leaves into the hole, so the level would be higher come spring or summer. Two weeks ago, I was able to spend time cutting out a piece of black soundproofing material, which allows me to know exactly how much space constraints I am truly working within for the fairy’s placement.

My long-term vision is for 2 Birds No Stones to one day have a physical space where families can gather to partake in creatively awe-inspiring arts/music, sound bowls, sensory & play therapy. The goal is to help people heal and cope with existing or childhood traumas. ” The sky plus your imagination will be the limit!” I started the whole entrepreneurial process in 2018, and the one thing I allowed to hinder my movements was the ‘lack ofs'. I kept hearing: You don’t have the money. You don’t have a space. "Well, no more”. I have my vision and non-stop creativity and it brings me JOY to create and give the experience of happiness to others. Don’t let anyone or anything get in the way of what your mind & imagination can achieve! Thus, I am moving forward by gifting my fairy gardens in urban community parks. No rhymes no reasons needed. It’s makes me HAPPY and that is enough! It’s so funny that I met a very friendly woman on this one day and she seemed perplexed about my mission as she asked me “Why do you do this?” I laughed and smiled said: “It makes other people happy.” That's all we need.

To date I have placed a fairy garden in the encasement of a rock which has little fairy gnomes that live in a tree house and they are all busy at mischievous play. The theme of this fairy house is to show the importance of friendship. Almost every other week I go to the park and check on it to see how it’s keeping up. I love that children are actively engaging with the figures, moving the them around and coming up with their own creative stories. I often find pretty painted rocks that have been gifted or bitten apples that they decided to share. It is very humbling.

I have a couple more themes already in the works for June/July! One is a ‘Gratutide Tree’ for my birthday on June 20th with ducks playing in a puddle, while I have a picnic in the park. Simple pleasures! The other is a ‘Archeology Garden’ paying homage to an amazing artist that carved a dinosaur head into a broken tree. I discovered it on one of my famous morning walks. I will place a sand pit at the base. I am presently churning my creative mind every day and everything I do will offer a book relating to the outdoor play Esperanza. I visit each location at least a month before to take pictures so I can plan. One other thing I love to incorporate is nature that’s already present, so I am collecting rocks and acorns and anything that might be useful for design. Being out in nature is also calming and helpful to keeping one's peace of mind. With that said, you can find me anytime @twobirdsboston just enjoying life! Thank you ~ Maria

parents
Like

About the Creator

Maria McKnight

In 2018, Maria McKnight founded 2 Birds No Stones, LLC, which is a play space that will offer family healing; fun, active, and creative playtime. She strongly believes in commitment to community engagement and leaving a ‘legacy’.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.