Families logo

The Job of a Mom

And Then Some

By Ella DormanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
7

I love my job because I am changing the lives of others. When you think of a job, you tend to think about a job that pays money. However, my main job is like no other, and if you are a mother, you know how true this is. This is a job you can never check out from. You can not just quit and walk away and find a new job without the responsibilities of being a mother. While I am not paid in money, I am paid in love. I am a mother of two autistic boys and three girls. My days are long, and sometimes they never end. Most nights, I am up until two in the morning and sometimes later.

Being a mother comes with its own challenges (and I am not saying it is more complicated or effortless than a working parent); however, life is a bit different when you throw in a special needs child (or two or more). I am not only a mother; I am a cook, a maid, and a teacher. With special needs, sometimes homeschooling is another added "job" that the average parent does not account for. Being a mother of five, I have to find five very different curriculums for five very different children where one excels one might struggle.

I wouldn't say I like calling myself a mother a job. However, if an outsider were to look at my life, you would see that I am always going and never stopping. I am constantly learning and adjusting to my childrens' needs. When I am not taking care of my children and homeschooling them, I am making jewelry, tumblers, and other resin art to help individuals bring their wildest dreams to come true by creating whatever is locked in their minds.

However, when I am not doing either of those things, I am teaching individuals online how to speak, read, and write English. I am transforming individuals' lives worldwide to pursue whatever they want within a community that primarily speaks English. When I wake up in the morning, I know that I have the chance to help others grow.

By Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Whether I am teaching my children a new skill or a new lesson in History or teaching someone with no base knowledge of English how to speak, teachers tend to go under the radar when people talk about careers and how they change the lives of others. You often hear about first responders, law enforcement, or even individuals in the military. However, I feel like teachers get pushed aside.

Growing up, I always wanted to be a teacher because I knew that someday I could change someone's life like my teachers did mine. Growing up, I was the child who was being abused at home. I relied on my teachers to be my support system because I lacked it at home. However, I am not just a teacher, chef, maid, or mother. I am also a college student. I work hard on my school work to show my children anything is possible because it is my job to be a role model for them to have a strong future.

While I have many jobs, and they all mean so much to me, I know my favorite is being a mother. It is the hardest out of my jobs but the most rewarding. I am molding them into kind, intelligent individuals so that they can change the world with compassion. Not many realize it, but our children are our future. One day we will retire and rely on the younger generation to take over America, and how they run America will be a reflection on how we have taught them.

Change happens when we put in the work. When we do so selflessly, it has the most rewarding outcome.

children
7

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.