Families logo

The Beauty of the traditions

Happiness cannot be bought

By Ahmad RiazPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
2
Unrepeatable Time

A senior friend of mine pointed out the problems in traditions some time ago. Everyone has the freedom to think and understand in their own way, but the thing is, what can we achieve by forgetting our traditions?

In this era of chaos where people have almost no time for each other, if people refresh their memories with their cultures and traditions, if they spend some moments of happiness, then what is the problem?

According to me, traditions should not be against humanity, and if they are against humanity, they should end immediately, but if one can find happiness in these traditions, then such traditions should not only continue, it should also be promoted.

The person I'm talking about posted a photo of an Asian young man at his graduation, and I'll start from there. I completed my graduation in 2020 that was when the covid-19 was at the peak, and the online classes of the university used to be, later when the degree was completed, there was no convocation for the whole of 2020 and all my classmates and university fellows, including me, were waiting for the convocation.

Finally, the convocation was held, how can I forget this day? I remember every single moment of this day very well. In fact, the search for very good clothes had already started a week ago. In the morning, my friend had to pick me up from home. We had booked our dress there. For this one day, friends who never came to class on time in the morning, they had reached the university before us and were waiting for us.

The convocation has begun, the certificates were awarded to the students who completed the degree. And the students who secured the positions were awarded gold, silver and copper medals. These were the moments, which were probably one of the most memorable moments of my life. There was no end to the happiness and all the friends were taking selfies with each other and were seen laughing.

The most interesting thing about this is that some students came to the convocation with their relatives, and what is more interesting is that some students came there with their parents. Where the joy of the students was related to seeing, the joy found in the eyes of their parents could not be ignored.

A strange joy was evident in their eyes. After receiving their respective degrees, some students handed over their caps and degree folders to their parents. These elements of happiness cannot be bought and there is no exchange for them, the person who gets these elements of happiness can express his feelings himself.

According to me, parents including students are waiting for that one day, when their son or daughter will complete their education and they can proudly tell people that their son or daughter has completed their education.

The happiness that I was mentioning back is not for everyone. When I went to my convocation, none of my parents were in this world, my brothers and sisters were busy in their own homes, seeing people with their parents was a joy in my heart, on the other hand, there was a sadness in my heart, that I wish my parents or one of the two had been present with me on this occasion, but this is time that goes on and does not stop.

My parents also wished to see my education completed, but the above We must be content with it, and any logic of abandoning traditions which are not in any way anti-human is beyond comprehension.

In this era of machine-like human beings, where time is not known, if some traditions can bring some happiness, then in my opinion, what is good about it can.

how toparentsimmediate familychildrenbook reviewsadvice
2

About the Creator

Ahmad Riaz

I am a journalist, presenter, and author. I am a political reporter of KN news Pakistan. From 2011 until today i have worked for different national and international newspapers, and for different social media and national news channels.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.