Families logo

Thanks for Giving

So I had thought

By Antoinette L BreyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
Thanks for Giving
Photo by Spencer Davis on Unsplash

It was Thanksgiving, I was a little nervous, but excited. I was going to get to share some of my favorite dishes with others. My stepfather's son's family was coming over for thanksgiving. The meal was going to be at my mother's house. I would be cooking in a big kitchen with a budget that allowed me to make whatever I desired. The stuffing was my absolute favorite, an oyster and bacon filling. I think I also put the extra bacon in the green beans and goat cheese appetizer dish. My cheat dish was a Stouffers dish. A sweet potato souffle with bacon. I thought about making plain stuffing. But why bother when I don't really like it. I was feeling so proud when we sat down at the table. My mother and her husband Bob, Paul and his wife and one of their daughters. We were about to eat when all of a sudden Paul's daughter said that she couldn't eat Pork. I froze everything had pork. Inwardly I was angry, she should have told us that a week ago not when we were about to eat. but I was the hostess, so I offered to make her a baked potato in the microwave. She thanked me and ate the cooked potato. I sat down at the table ready to eat my favorite meal , Pauls wife then made a face and said that she did not like goat cheese. I choose to ignore her, wondering who had taught her manners. I remembered all the foods I had on my plate as a child. I either put them on the side of my plate or tried to hide them when I ate them in gravy or butter. My sister used to hide her vegetables in her underwear, and later flush the down the toilet. At age five we had better manners than the adults in Paul's family The conversation turned finally from the food, and I ignored the general chit-chat and ate my meal. It was the same family topics. Paul's family bragged about their family and my mother and Bob encouraged their self-centeredness. It was supposed to be a day to be thankful but nobody seemed to appreciate the food they had just eaten, or the time it took me to plan and prepare it.

I know I was giving more in my preparation than in my personality. I was honestly too angry to engage in conversation with these people even if they were my family. It became just one more formality to go through. Be a good hostess, enjoy the food which I looked forward to each year, and ignore the company. I figured to be honest that is what most of the people we know do anyway. Unlike your friends you do not choose your family, The meal finally ended, I cleared off the table. I thought people would clear their own plates, but no. To be honest I do not remember most of the meal. I know I must have made some kind of pie since I usually make desserts from scratch. Once I had cleared the table I was free to watch tv . As I was leaving, my mother said "Maybe next time we can have another variety of stuffing, the bacon was a little too strong"

For me. that was the last straw. It was the last time she had that stuffing because it was the last time I made thanksgiving dinner for my family.

Thanksgiving is coming up next week, I am thinking maybe I should make that stuffing for someone who will be extremely grateful - me.

immediate family
1

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh man!!! They treated you horribly :( I hope you enjoy every bite of that stuffing if you make it this year, and too bad for everyone else!! Thanks for sharing :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.