Families logo

Thank you beloved Aunt Violet

You are the family matriarch and a pillar of strength for so many.

By Cheryl E PrestonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
Violet Jones Robertson

Dear Aunt Violet you are the matriarch of our family and the last remaining sibling as you five brothers and sisters have preceded you in death. You alone are the survivor of your immediate family because your husband, and two children have passed away. I have admired your strength for decades and I am amazed at how strong your faith remains in spite of all you have endured. I recall as a teenager my brothers and I getting Christmas presents from you which were always nice items of clothing.

Considering you were our father’s sister and he and my mom were divorced I thought this was commendable. No one else from the Jones side of the family reached out to us as you did and for that I say thanks. Due to the recent death of my husband Michael, I admire you even more. I’ve not had a hurt like this ever in my life and I don’t know how you have managed to continue standing all of these years. Your husband, Uncle Jeremiah passed away from cancer as did your son Jeremiah Jr., your daughter Andrea and your granddaughter Kierra.

Aunt Violet her daughter and grandchildren

Here you are at the age of 90, still standing, still driving and serving in church. Others have been broken by much less than what you have endured and some have sadly taken their own lives. Here you are however, still handling your own business affairs, including the estate of one sibling and your mind is as sharp as ever. You continue to be one of the best dressed women that I know and we all appreciate you so very much.

To have 5 members of your immediate family (including one parent) die from cancer is a terrible thing to deal with and I cannot imagine the grief you have endured. In spite of your own pain and your age as well as COVID, you were so supportive after Michael passed away. You drove to my house and gave me a card with a substantial amount of money in it. You also drove yourself to the funeral. Every time I felt myself being overcome with grief at the death of my husband I thought of your strength. This gave me the will you keep going. I’m sure you have had private moments when the tears flowed and you felt so all alone yet you never let on.

Aunt Violet

. I draw from your strength and have decided that if you can make it then so can I. You say the Lotd must have a purpose for you to keep you here after so much death and indeed He does. I know you have your grandson and his wife, your great granddaughter and great grandson but my brother, first cousins end myself all consider you quite remarkable and love you very much. My children any grandchildren admire you as well and when COVID is over I will bring your great great niece and nephew to visit. I tell them often that when I am 90 I want to be like you. I desire to be able to have a sound mind, continue to drive and get around and live in my own home

Aunt Violet I was always so proud that you and uncle Jeremiah were able to purchase a home in your North Lake neighborhood. You moved in during a time when you were one of the first African Americans to do so. Your example proved that hard work could pay off no matter the color of your skin. I appreciate how you worked with your church to keep the food and clothing pantry open because they are needed so badly during such a time as this.

The Jones clan

You were one of the first to reach out to my brother when he returned home from jail and was dealing with mental health issues. You have pushed through the pain of hip surgery that went wrong and have not allowed it to slow you down one bit. You have maintained your associations with civic groups and .I have watched you give back to the community and I love the personal wisdom you have shared with me over the decades.

Every adult in the Thanksgiving family photo has passed away except for you. This is an amazing reminder that the strong do survive. I know that I can work through. The grief of my husbands death in part by eating you continue with life through the decades. You brought food and money and gave suggestions on places that might offer assistance. You have continued to support your church financially even though there had been no services due to COVID. Your loyalty and dedication to what you believe in is to be commended

Christmas time

Thank you Aunt Violet for letting me know that someone from our dads side of the family cared when my brothers and I were growing us. Thank you for having the strength to continue after so much death and struggling. I love and admire your resolve and tenacity. You have shown us how to move forward, head high and with a smile. You have said you don’t have many days left on the earth and at 90 that is logically true. You buried both parents, 5 siblings, and a granddaughter.

You have sat in the services and or the grave site of countless family and friends and yet you are today still here. You say you don’t know your purpose but we all believe it’s to inspire the rest of us. Thank you Aunt Violet Jones Robinson for being the beloved pillar of the community and our family that you are. Your strength is what keeps us going.

grief
2

About the Creator

Cheryl E Preston

Cheryl is a widow who enjoys writing about current events, soap spoilers and baby boomer nostalgia. Tips are greatly appreciated.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.