Families logo

Teach your children that nothing is given in life

Learning the fulfillment of the achievement in life can boost your self-confident

By Jorche OliveiraPublished about a year ago 6 min read
Like
Teach your children that nothing is given in life
Photo by Piron Guillaume on Unsplash

My father with a sullen style made me understand that he would not accept me back if I did. I did not give in to the side blackmail, I was determined to take life into my own hands.

I will never forget the crying look of my mother, the morning I moved. On the one hand, I knew I was doing the right thing. On the other hand, I was numb to the idea of ​​the new perspective. What I never understood was why my mother made such a big deal about the fact that I was moving to the second house on the estate, which was 20 meters away.

For her, whether I went to the house next door or to a neighboring planet, the sadness was the same. He could clearly see that I had taken the first cowardly step to spread my wings and he could not reconcile himself to the idea that I would no longer need her. An independent man would take the place of her little one who cared for and protected her for so many years. And that decapitated her, in part, as a mother, nullifying her role.

Or so he thought.

I felt the real change when, after a while, I left the island to pursue my dreams. In the big city, I went to and where I had a hard time adjusting, my mom would not wash my clothes, nor would she have my food on the table. I had to adjust my daily routine, which I took for granted. They would stop taking care of me, advising me, telling me what to do…

Just a side note: if you are not a medium member, I recommend you to join Medium to read unlimited stories which bring value to your life.

What to do; This was the magic phrase: Whether directly or indirectly, my parents, always with good intentions, controlled my behavior with words, expressions, but also lateral applause and disapproval. Even with the look, they made me stop when there was a danger of getting hurt when I did something that the island microcosm would not approve of. They provided me with health insurance that did not represent me.

In several parts of the province, many “soybeans” of the popular streets, occupy entire neighborhoods. In Athens, respectively, the “family apartment buildings” give and take. Due to the inadequacy of social benefits of the Greek state, the members of these families protected each other and, unfortunately, continue to do so to this day out of necessity.

Thus, in addition to the traditional roles, they are called to play those of the nurse, the nursing home, the kindergarten teacher, the psychologist.

But unfortunately, along with the strong bonds, the addiction ignites.

Thus, in parallel with this commendable phenomenon, that of repressed thinking and social behavior was cultivated, which in combination with the misunderstood traditions, does not allow many younger members of these families to open their wings and dare or easily adopt anything new.

The mentality of the members of the wider family is forged every day in an identical anachronistic way, by the elders, who have the “infallible”. The children swallow their questions, do not clash with the irrational, become passive recipients of the “authority of the wise”, thus unwittingly applauding their maintenance.

Overprotection of children condemns them to future mental decline. Parents, by ensuring a sterile environment for germs, do not take into account that their children will not use a surgical mask when going out. Their uneducated mind will not help them to distinguish the hostile from the beneficial and necessary “germs” that complete the personality.

And embarrassed parents who know this well, do not dare to leave their children, because they know in themselves that they can not stand alone, even under discreet supervision. Even when they leave for studies for a few years in another city, their influence still hurts.

The hardships of the past decades, made many Greeks consider it a sacred duty and proof of love, not to miss anything in their children. But this love-boomerang drowns them, transforming them, in the future, into immature citizens, who learn in the ruthless survival.

In some wealthy families, children waste paternal money without bothering to earn it, as their parents never encouraged them to work, even during one of the summer school holidays, to learn to swim in the shallows. with safety. And to go to deeper waters on their own, as a challenge.

Unfortunately, most Greek children are drowned by the many life jackets that their parents wrap around them and roam around like zombies, claiming rights, without obligations. And that very soon they will find themselves weak and sad in a demonstration for the injustice imposed on them by the new father, called the state.

Having learned to operate with a weak judgment, they will be called upon to decide for their country by irreparably hurting their fellow citizen, with their vote. And the infamous association says that if the generation of the polytechnic, which was the generation of the intellect, led the country to a relentless crisis, what does the future hold for the current generation of i-phone, where children of wealthy families rebel just because they have it all.

Where there is no room for personal achievement, which does not allow them to suffer in their lives, to fight. That their parents sweetly close the door keeping them, however, inside. They do not let them learn from their mistakes. They force them to create their own demons so that they can channel their youthful energy by fighting them.

Make a gift of life to your children. Communicate with them, see their needs, get them to work somewhere early, give them food for thought.

Send them to stay in other countries for a while. Not to go back and look at the sights, but to stay in families, to see how people live, how they think. To understand a simple truth. How human nature is the same, how there are infinite mentalities, thousands of views, dozens of aspects of the same currency.

Let them crumble, suffer, learn that happiness is gained through daily struggle. How money has real value when it is earned and not when it is given away.

Give them a life lesson. And when they return, drive them out of the house, but not out of your life. Help them to become mature and responsible people, to be masters of themselves and not to expect everything from you and consequently later from the state, chasing the chimera of the public.

Do not deprive them of the most beautiful toy they really need but do not know.

parentschildrenadvice
Like

About the Creator

Jorche Oliveira

A millennial who is creating useful and inspiring content. 30,000+ followers, 10,000+ subscribers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.