Families logo

Talking with Dad

Short Story

By Zachary LencioniPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

Sitting on a dried out log in the middle of a nearly empty beach on Hawai'i. Keanu looks out across the ocean to the setting sun. He lets out a deep sigh.

Keanu says, "Dad. I really wish you were still alive. I need to talk with you. I'm really terrified."

Just then a strong gust of comes off of the ocean carrying a slight mist and a strong salty smell. A rough yet gentle hand pats Keanu on his shoulder. Tears fill Keanu's as he slowly turns to see who the hand belongs too. His father Kekoa is standing behind him with a sarong wrapped around his waist and his bare chest covered with traditional Hawaiian tattoos exposed.

Keanu says crying, "Dad, but how are you here?"

Kekoa takes a seat next to Keanu on the log and replies, "I'm always here with you. Even when you can't see me, I'm always in your pu'uwai. Your heart."

Keanu reaches out and taps on his father's arms to reassure that his father is not an illusion. He wraps his arms around his father and begins crying. Kekoa pushes his son back so he can see his face.

"What's the matter son? What's troubling you?"

"As you know I'm getting married tomorrow and we're having a kid in about two months. I'm terrified. I don't know if I'll be a good father or husband."

Kekoa looks out over the ocean, "I'll tell you something I've never told you or your siblings. I was scared to marry your mother as well. I never thought that I was good enough for your mother, but after our first date. That's when I knew I wanted to marry her. She was kind hearted, smart, strong and gorgeous young woman. Now she's even better. When she agreed to marry me, I became just as terrified as you probably are. Just remember, she chose to be with you as your mother chose to be with me."

Keanu wipes his tears away and lowers his head. Kekoa wraps his arm around Keanu's shoulders and lifts his son's head up.

Kekoa says, "Hold your head up high son. Your mother once told me that you need to look to the future not the ground. The future is bright and holds more than you know. Don't allow yourself to wallow in the darkness of the past. As for the present, it can always be changed. You'll learn to grow as long as you keep moving forward. You'll make mistakes but that's what happens when you're human. You just have to get up and dust yourself off and learn from the mistake. We'll always support you and we will always love you. I changed that last part better to suit you."

Keanu looks at his father with a furrowed brow. Kekoa looks back at his son with a smile on his face. He pulls his son in for another hug as his body start to fade. Their foreheads and nose touch. They both take a deep breath and close their eyes and embrace each other.

Amy, Keanu's mother, walks up behind him with tears filling her eyes as she notices Kekoa. Kekoa pulls away from his son and looks over to his wife with a smirk. He gives her a slight bow and mouths "I love you" before disappearing.

Kekoa's voice echoes, "Keanu, take good care of your mother, wife, brothers and sisters. I love you always."

Keanu looks over and see's his mom as she drops to the ground crying. He gets up and walks over to her and tries to help her to her feet. She hangs her head, but as she does Keanu lifts her head back up.

"Dad told me that a gorgeous, strong and smart young woman once told him to keep his head up and look to the future."

She looks at Keanu with tears still pouring out of her eyes. He wipes away her tears and gives her a little smirk just like Kekoa. She buries her face into Keanu's chest and continues crying. Keanu just holds his mother and lets her cry.

"He loved you and always will mom. I can tell by the way he talked about you. We will always be here for you no matter what happens."

Kekoa faintly appears and holds them both in his arms.

Kekoa says to no one in particular, "Cherish the ones you love because inevitably the day will come when their time with you physically will end. However, they are never really gone. They remain in your memories and your heart. Keep your head up and look to the future not the ground. The future is bright and holds more than you know. Don't allow yourself to wallow in the darkness of the past. As for the present, it can always be changed. You'll learn to grow as long as you keep moving forward. You'll make mistakes but that's what it is to be human. You just have to get up and dust yourself off and learn from the mistake. Your loved ones will always support you and they will always love you. Be the best you you can possibly be."

grief
2

About the Creator

Zachary Lencioni

My name is Zack. I love to write fictional stories. Some of which I will not be able to post due to the guidelines, but I hope with what I'm able to post everyone will enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.