Families logo

Taking My Last Steps

Understanding the heartbreaking reality of unwanted dogs and their final moments.

By Fe AquiPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Taking My Last Steps
Photo by Yuki Dog on Unsplash

I am unwanted in this world where you live,

So I walk the final path with heavy heart.

I feel the scent of fear and sadness in the air as I take my last steps.

I wonder what had I done,

What did I do to earn this awful fate?

Did I not wag my tail enough, or fetch

or greet my humans with a lick at the front gate?

It`s now too late for any thoughts,

As I am led towards the final door

The place where all my sadness will soon be gone

And I will rest forever evermore.

I wish I could say this one last time,

How much love I could give to anyone though I can not speak,

But I am unwanted in this world where you live.

So let the needle come, and let me go,

Into the arms of peace where I belong.

Though I may be gone, I live in hope, that one day,

there will be no more unwanted dog like me.

Goodbye, dear world, my time with you is done.

But know in my heart, I`ll never be gone.

Sharing this poem may raise awareness and inspires compassion in others. It breaks my heart to think of any dog being put to sleep simply because they`re unwanted. These beautiful creatures are filled with love and loyalty, and they deserve to be treated with the utmost care and respect. It pains me to imagine the fear and confusion they must feel in their final moments, and the knowledge that this fate awaits so many of them is almost too much to bear.

The issue of euthanizing unwanted dogs is one that carries immense complexity and sparks heated debates among animal lovers and advocates alike. It`s a subject that tugs at our heartstrings, forcing us to confront difficult questions about compassion, responsibility, and the treatment of our four-legged companions. Euthanasia of unwanted dogs due to their undesired status is undoubtedly a complex and divisive subject. By acknowledging the complexities, engaging in constructive dialogue, and taking proactive steps toward prevention, we can work collectively to reduce the number of unwanted dogs and provide them with a chance at a better life. Through education, responsible pet ownership, and supporting adoption efforts, we can help build a future where euthanasia for unwanted dogs becomes a rare occurrence.

The topic of euthanizing unwanted dogs is highly devisive due to differing ethical perspectives. Some argue for euthanasia as means to prevent unnecessary suffering, while others advocate for increased efforts in adoption, fostering, and education. These debates highlight the need for open dialogue and empathy to bridge gaps in understanding.

Prevention should be a central focus in tackling the issue of unwanted dogs. Education about responsible pet ownership is crucial. Supporting and promoting low-cost spay/neuter programs, community outreach initiatives, and accessible veterinary care can significantly reduce the number of unwanted dogs.

Advocacy for legislative changes also plays a key role in driving systemic change. Supporting and championing legislation that promotes responsible pet ownership, enforces stricter breeding regulations, and allocates resources to spay/neuter programs can contribute to reducing the number of unwanted dogs and decreasing the need for euthanasia.

Adoption and rescue organizations play a vital role in providing a second chance for these unwanted dogs. Encouraging adoption from shelters and rescue groups instead of purchasing from breeders helps to alleviate the burden on overcrowded shelters and save lives. Supporting these organizations through volunteering, fostering, or financial contributions can make a significant difference.

I hope that one day we can live in a world where no dog is ever unwanted, and where euthanasia is reserved only for cases of severe suffering and illness. Until then, we can continue to fight for these beautiful creatures and to honor the memory of those who have been lost.

valuessocial mediafosterfeatureextended familyadoption

About the Creator

Fe Aqui

Hi there! I`m a nurse, a dog lover, an avid traveller, and a nature enthusiast. I would love to share here my insights on various health topics and some tips on pet care.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Fe AquiWritten by Fe Aqui

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.