Families logo

Strong!

Trust me You Are

By Kristen ReneePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Just a few of my favorite pictures of Kilee.

Dear Kilee,

I hope you are well. I want to tell you something that I think you are not aware of; sometime in the near future great things are going to start happening for you. You see, from the time you were born you have always accomplished whatever task, goal, or milestone was set before for you ahead of schedule. Even as a child you moved with purpose, both quickly and correctly. This is something that tons of adults still haven’t mastered. Your great things are coming because you are the strongest young women I know.

Before you argue, YES, I am aware of my bias as your mother. Hear me out because I do have reasons. First, thing is first, you have always been smart. You talked at an early age, and not baby talk. You went from clear words to sentences. You were mobile by ten months, thus, a strong baby. Obviously, school didn’t give you any trouble because your grades were great but, most of your grade school years we were separated. You were strong and didn’t forget me, no matter how few our visits became.

(Top) Kilee at eighteen months. (Bottom) Me and Kilee five months old.

Don’t even get me started on how strong you were the day that you decided on moving to Arizona with me. It was not easy for you to leave your whole life and move to a place where you only knew me. You came to a new state and started a new school. You earned your diploma with excellent grades.

Please don’t forget how strong you were when you were babysitting at four a.m. Remember walking in the cold? After that you worked as a housekeeper. You were mentally and physically strong for that job. Both of these jobs you held while in high school. You have not been unemployed for any length of time since you turned fifteen.

Kilee on her wedding day.

You have been strong dealing with relationships that would have ruined grown women. The amount of yourself that you put into a relationship is rarely seen. People are scared to commit and communicate, but not you. Bills, gifts, food, and other expenses you paid out of love as a choice. That is strong.

Fifth on my list of reasons is your kindness. Don’t get twisted, being kind to the level you are makes you strong. You handle your friendships the same way you handle your relationships; you’re always there for your friends to talk to and you don’t abandon them. You have been a taxi, an A.T.M., a hotel, and you have given people that hurt you chance upon chance.

Strong is being there for family when they are older and/or ill. You moved back to land of the expensive because they needed help. You were working a full time job, making a ridiculous commute, and taking care of the house responsibilities.

My first grandson.

The last thing on my list that makes you strong, in my eyes stronger than me, is the family you have built. Your grandma had me before eighteen and I had you even younger than that. Yes, my parents got married but she was still pregnant before eighteen and I wasn’t married at all. You got married first then you got pregnant. Your strong shinned through again when you had my handsome grandson via emergency C-section.

You have been strong and done the right things for the right reasons. When that happens the universe notices. It may take the universe some time to line things up but the universe will make sure that great things come your way. You might see it happening you might not, just know that the great is coming for you.

The universe rewards the strong and you, Kilee, are strong.

Love Always,

Mom

children
4

About the Creator

Kristen Renee

Kristen Renee

Writer of poems, short stories, and soon a novel.

Six "Editor's Choice Awards" (1997-2011)

Published in the Library of Congress

Bachelor's Degree in English

Master's Degree in Business Administration

Collector of Books

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.