Families logo

Single Mom Struggles: The Truth Nobody Tells You

The Struggles and Triumphs

By Alain SaamegoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Single Mom Struggles: The Truth Nobody Tells You
Photo by Andrae Ricketts on Unsplash

This is my first time doing something like this so bear with me. It's been a little while since I've been on my own, and a lot has changed since then. I never imagined that I would be a single mom. It's not something that I ever wanted or planned for, but it's what I have to do.

It's tough. It really is. There are no two ways about it. Juggling work, child care, doctor's appointments, and a million other things, while trying to maintain some sense of self and sanity, is a daunting task. And that's just when you're in a relationship. Throw being a single mom into the mix and it's a wonder any of us ever make it out alive.

There are so many things to juggle as a single mom. You have to be the breadwinner, the caretaker, the disciplinarian, and the emotional support all while trying to find time to yourself. It's a lot to ask of anyone, let alone someone who is already struggling.

There are days when I feel so beaten down by it all that I just want to give up. But then I look at my daughter and I remember why I'm doing all of this. I'm doing it for her. I want her to have a better life than I did. I want her to know that she is worth fighting for.

It's not always easy, but I'm determined to make it work. I know that there are other single moms out there who are going through the same thing. We are the warriors of the world. We are the ones who fight for our children even when we feel like we can't. We are the ones who never give up.

It's not easy, that's for sure. There are a lot of struggles that come with it, but there are also a lot of successes. The most important thing is that I am doing my best to provide for my son and give him a good life.

One of the biggest struggles is making ends meet. It's tough to afford all the things that my son needs on my own. There are times when I have to make tough choices, like whether to buy groceries or pay the rent. But I never give up. I always find a way to make it work.

Another struggle is finding time for myself. It's hard to balance taking care of a child and doing things for myself. But I know that it's important, so I make time whenever I can. Even if it's just for an hour or two, it's something.

I never knew being a single mom could be so fulfilling. Sure, raising a child alone can be a challenge at times, but it's also incredibly rewarding. One of the best things about being a single mom is that I get to be both mom and dad to my child. I can provide my child with the love and nurturing they need, while also teaching them how to be strong and independent.

Another great thing about being a single mom is that I can set my own rules and standards. I don't have to worry about what anyone else thinks, I can just do what's best for my child. This gives me a lot of freedom and flexibility, which is great, especially when it comes to raising a 'tween or teenager.

One final thing that I love about being a single mom is that I get to be the one and only person my child relies on. I'm their everything, and they know that they can come to me with anything. This bond is incredibly strong, and it's something that I cherish deeply.

There are also a lot of successes that come with being a single mom. I am able to be my son's sole provider and protector. I am able to give him all of my time and love. I am able to create a life for him that he wouldn't have otherwise.

So, while it's not always easy, being a single mom can be a lot of things - tough, rewarding, inspiring. But most of all, it's worth it.

single
1

About the Creator

Alain Saamego

Software engineer , Writer and Content Strategist at Selfgrow.co.uk

I'm a technology enthusiast, and I love learning about upcoming technologies. I also enjoy teaching and answering questions about new technologies.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.