Families logo

Secrets He Took With Him

Little Black Book

By Angie ConnollyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I think he knew he was sick, but I didn’t. He took that secret with him along with his final breath. His heart stopped beating on a December morning at Citrus Memorial hospital.

The call came mid-morning. I was waiting for an update from my brother and hopeful for good news. Overly optimistic and full of expectation I answered on the first ring. The next three words would play over and over in my head incessantly, “he passed away”.

Death is an immanent fact of life and regardless of how we lived, the way we die changes the people we loved most. Oftentimes it brings out the worst in families. My brother and I had barely spoken in five years but there was no hostility or recognition of our previous encounters. This brought us beyond the threshold of that insignificance.

Our dad was a dreamer. He was optimistic and full of ambition. He was helpful and giving to a fault. He taught us the significance of hard work and determination. Never give up on our dreams and goals regardless of how life gets in the way.

We landed at the Clearwater airport just the two of us. Resolving the final details was just a formality for us. We were not there to collect his belongings or sort out any estate. Our dad was a hard worker and a wizard with his money but he wasn’t materialistic or flashy by any means. We didn’t expect life insurance policies or expensive collections.

Laughing and crying as we reminisced, we told stories and remembered what an amazing and unique person he was. File cabinets with a lifetime of paperwork, hats and t-shirts and, simple things from the simple life he lived. We looked around at his final days where he had left his wallet and keys, a coffee cup on the porch, a jigsaw puzzle he had just completed. During one final look, I opened a drawer on his bedside table. I found a few miscellaneous items of no significance. I dumped the drawer into a box and in doing so a little black notebook landed face up on the pile. It was just a plain little book but on the cover, my name was written.

I sat on the edge of the bed filled with enthusiasm wondering what he had written in it. I read through the pages and I couldn’t believe what I had just discovered.

Angie, I hope you are ok because if you are reading this I am already gone. I have kept a few things from you because I knew what was best. I apologize for your sadness but I hope I have left you with happy memories and enough love to carry you through.

There is another secret I have kept from everyone but I will explain…

I have won the lottery, the Powerball worth 50 million dollars. It is in an account for you and the information is all here.

I have some specific wishes for you but I want you to follow the instructions I have given.

I left this responsibility to you because I wanted to give you the opportunity to fulfill both of our dreams.

The first thing I want you to do is to take 10 million dollars and make 10 people of your choice millionaires.

Take another million and help the charities of your choice.

Give the next 10 million to your brother with the same instructions.

Use another million dollars to absorb the debts of whoever you choose.

Take 8 million and give half to your brother and keep the other half for yourself. This is fun money... waste it!

Give 1 million to each of my grandchildren.

Divide the final 15 million in half with your brother to support the rest of your lives. Invest it in many ways and build an empire for your families and future generations.

The bank account information is : First National Bank of Florida- account number 04081954.

All my love and support, love Dad

Always remember “It’s all good haha”

The flight home was silent. Both astonished by the secret he had kept and felt the certainty of his demise. Humbled and forbearing, we parted ways at the airport and went back to our respective families. Two months have passed and we still have not pulled the funds from the account. Wishing for the chance to trade it all in for one more day with him.

parents
Like

About the Creator

Angie Connolly

I've been many things in the 46 chapters of my life but my identity is Mom and Nana.

Of all my hobbies, I enjoy writing the most.

I hope to live the rest of my life with the purest love and share happiness with those most important to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.