Families logo

Roll with the punches

Life is a hard squeeze

By Felisha SavardPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

How can a statement like this, really be that true!

Well let me tell you, I cannot tell you how many time I have heard other say lives gives you lemons make lemonade, but in my experience, I am about to through the lemons at the person saying it. Most think yeah someone else just told me the time old statement, they really don’t care what the meaning is behind what I am telling them, or at least I have had this feeling more than once. What I am trying to get at here is we all think it is just a statement but what happens if a series events in your life gives you no other choice but to “roll with the punches”

Let me explain a little more, in more detail on a personal level.

I am going to go back for 4 years I will say. So a month after getting married to my husband I needed to go to the hospital for chest pain. I was 28, yes you read that right, can’t be something to the major right! Wrong I found out that I had a rare congenital heart defect they didn’t find until now and let’s just say they couldn’t wait longer to correct the issues or I may not be here writing this. So I had open heart surgery to fix me. So me aside the main reason I am writing this is because of my baby girl she is 4.5, but up until a month ago I may not have her right now and I will explain why. So when she was first born she had a clubbed foot and had to be in boots and bars for the first few months of her life. Not so bad but it got worse, I can’t even say she was a picky eater because she really didn’t eat and still basically doesn’t now so, jumping ahead I had her referred to a pediatrician, she followed her with blood work and found she was extremely anemic so on the iron the little one went, well in December early January we got some news none of us were expecting. Peds called me told me to go in and from there in the matter of an hr off to the emergency we were shipped she was admitted but long, and short of things they were thinking kidney issues

Worse of all this is even after they can in to tell me she needed a blood transfusion and constant blood-work they still didn’t know what the problem was and as a mom the waiting game is torturous. So it took them three days of in-hospital for them to tell me she had the E. coli virus and it had been dormant enough that she never got any symptoms. And then another 3 days before they could tell me what was actually wrong with her kidneys. Stage 4 Hydronephrosis and stage 5 Vesicoureteral reflux, if no one knows what that is I will leave a link down at the bottom of the post for your viewing but let’s just say it is a critical thing. So everything said and down they sent us home and now we have to wait for Nephrology and urology to follow up and I really can’t do anything but pull my hair out and roll with the punches but as a mom of three the waiting games is not my friend .we are still waiting on a test called a Urodynamics test and she will have to be followed ongoing through Nephrology, and urology for probably the rest of their life. So medications, tears, waiting and rolling with the punches

https://www.med.unc.edu/urology/pediatrics/pediatric-conditions/hydronephrosis/

https://www.med.unc.edu/urology/pediatrics/pediatric-conditions/vesicoureteral-reflux/

children
Like

About the Creator

Felisha Savard

Midline writer , I have published low content books and lately been getting into writing erotica , poetry , or vent story’s . Otherwise I am a mom of three kids one is special needs , and I am always for ways to take my story somewhere.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.