Families logo

Pregnant at Nineteen

By: E.V.A Roberts

By Vicky AlcazarPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was young when I meet my husband. We thought I could never have children. He supported me through the thought of not being able to have children. Then two and a half years later, I got pregnant with my first and only child. It happened one day when I realized I did not have my period. My chest hurt, and my breast was tender. I took a pregnancy test. The moment that I saw the pregnancy test, it was positive. I was shocked and scared about the pregnancy. We had no money, and my husband dealt with a lot of mental health issues. So he worked but not enough to support my child and me. I had just got a job in a mall. I was afraid that the manager would not want me there for the fact of me being pregnant. Then I looked into programs where donated clothes and diapers when the babies are born. Then I went to a church thrift store where they gave me a pile of clothes for five dollars. I was so happy and trying to work and carrying our baby. After I figured out, I signed up for a pantry where I collected a lot for my baby. I got a free stroller, shampoos, and diapers. I stacked up on everything I needed for my baby. I was so grateful that my husband went to all my doctor appointments. My baby girl was a healthy baby.

Then as my tummy was getting bigger and bigger as time went by. The only problem we had was we had no money saved because we had lots to buy things for the baby. So all our paychecks weren't good enough. My boss wasn't okay with me working too. My doctor informed me that I should be on bed rest. So I didn't have enough pay. Then my boyfriend fell into a depression which, made it more difficult for my pregnancy. I lost my job because it was only seasonal. Then I ended up getting another job down where I lived. After it came closer to the end of the pregnancy, we got kicked out of our place.

His mom took us in for a while. Later she took me to different places. I got stressed about trying to get our lives together. I was enjoying my life until my daughter was born. After a few days, I went to my doctor's appointment. But I didn't think it would be my last appointment. My doctor checked me and told me I was 3 cm dilated. My husband's mom rushed us to the hospital, I felt no pain, and my water didn't break so, I was confused. As we were in the hospital, the doctor ran some tests. My doctor decided to pop my baby's bag and blood everywhere. Then, I told my husband that I was feeling barely any pain. I could not handle the pain because they kept putting their whole fist to see how much more dilated.

So I asked for the epidural because I could not stand the pain. Later, the doctor put me to sleep because they said I would work hard in pushing her out. So I slept for twelve hours, and it was time to give birth. All the doctors came in and told me it was time to push. I was scared because I didn't know how to give birth. My husband was busy taking pictures until the doctors told him that he should help. After so much pain, they had to cut for the baby to go out. That did not work, and I ended up getting dizzy. I was ready to pass out from pushing and from how tired I was. My doctor got a suction vacuum to help pull the baby out. A sharp pain, I yelled, and my baby was out. The doctor stitched me up, and it was good to hold my baby. I fell asleep, and I wasn't able to walk for a while. But I had my baby to raise her right.

pregnancy
Like

About the Creator

Vicky Alcazar

Im a mother of a nine month old. Please Send tips and I will be forever grateful

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.