Families logo

Paradise

Comfortable Forever

By Nancy Nason GussPublished 8 months ago 4 min read
2
My Little Patch of Nature

Paradise Found: Comfortable Forever

The chair was comfortable indeed, just as advertised. “I didn’t realize it was so large,” I said as I helped the delivery men remove my front door to be able to get the chair into the room. They placed it just right, next to the window with the view into what I call “my little patch of nature.”

It’s not a garden; I don’t tend to it or anything. It’s simply a tiny peninsula of untouched land that the developer called “conservation area.” I’m not sure how deep it goes. I suspect it doesn’t go far because land prices are at a premium here. Yet, I love the view out of this window. It is the only place in the house that touches nature.

I stood by the door admiring the new addition to my home. “It looks like a throne all by itself in the corner,” I thought to myself. “It needs an end table.” I have so many little tables, so I went on a scavenger hunt through my house to find the one perfect for that space. When I turned into the unused guest room, I spotted it. Guests staying at my home had a table on each side of the twin bed. Now they would have one table. The other would be perfect next to the throne by the window. There haven’t been guests in a long time.

I sat for a moment, staring at my little patch of nature, and I relaxed my back into the chair while balancing my cup of tea. I put the tea on the end table, which was the perfect location and height. I pulled on a little drawer that I forgot was there and saw it was empty. This is a perfect place for my pen and paper. It will help keep things tidy in this little corner of comfort.” I picked up my kindle with all my books and added that to the drawer. “It needs a lamp, for when it’s dark, oh, and a charger,” I thought and brought all to the table. Although full, it was not crowded because of the little bit of storage in the drawer.

“My reading, writing, and nature corner of comfort, heaven in my little home,” I thought. “This is the most comfortable chair in the world. I reclined a little, sipped my tea, and watched the antics outside my window. Everything I needed was right here at my fingertips.

I took this time to explore all the little amenities the chair had to offer. I lifted one of the arms and I realized there was a storage compartment. I did the same to the other, and I saw something unexpected. “What is it?” I said out loud to no one. I pulled on the metal lined flat piece and beheld the ingeniously created folded mini table, just like one would find in First Class on an airplane, and next to it is an outlet for chargers.

I opened the table, and it spread across my lap. I moved my tea and pencil and paper and wrote.

It’s been six years since I brought this chair home, and I rarely have to leave my corner, except to eat and complete basic needs. As I get older, I find I move more slowly, so my corner is perfect. Also, with age, brought the weight gain, knee pains, and stiffness whenever I get up. It’s important that I don’t overdo anything because I’m now old, and everything I need can be ordered or used from the comfort of my chair. I find the rest of my house stays very neat. There are even times that I fall asleep here, and my little throw blanket is the perfect cover.

Doesn’t everyone strive to be this comfortable? I am lucky to have found this place in my home. Many people never get this, and most only get to relax and enjoy extreme comfort for a few minutes at a time. What a blessing! It has become my life.

Yes, I have found true comfort. I read, write, do my puzzles, and stay away from the outside world that may be changing without me in it. That’s okay because I’m comfortable, living the dream, in a dream filled only with me, my patch of nature, my books, no conflict, and my writing. I stay out of the way, and the way stays out of me. Isn’t that the way life is supposed to be?

valueshumanity
2

About the Creator

Nancy Nason Guss

Nancy Nason Guss, a retired career educator, is Living with Gussto, a life filled with Books, Bagpipes, & Blogs. In addition to playing bagpipes, she's published pieces for all ages that process life's triumphs and tribulations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.