Families logo

Our Love story

dedicated to my dearly departed husband

By April Marie GrahamPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
the love of my life

It all started when our neighbour across the street heard me practising my songs, he asked my sister who was singing and we can get introduced, so we did. He asked me if I wanted to join his band, and I accepted.

I went for the band practice and the whole band liked my performance and I was offered the lead vocal permanency.

On one of our band practices, I jokingly asked our drummer if he had a single brother who plays the drums as well, and he responded with "as a matter of fact, I do", I then jokingly said to him, "maybe, you should introduce us" and I giggled, well, he took that seriously and we got introduced, since then, Alan started coming to our band practices more often.

I had a big crush on him when I saw him, he had this Richie Zambora kinda look, a wild look although he was such a soft-hearted man inside, I used to joke around saying, "I am dark-haired Heather Locklear".

As I was not the type to ask a man out, I was waited for him to ask me out, which had taken a long time since apart from him not believing his brother telling him that I am crazy about him, he also had never asked a girl or a woman out since he was used to being the one who gets asked out, so we're kinda waiting for who will ask first, and we went out in groups with her sisters, but we never went out alone.

One afternoon, during one of band practice, when Alan was not there, his brothers' son came and told me his uncle does not believe them when they told him that I like him, so I wrote on a piece of tissue "call me" and wrote my number and signed it :-).

He then came to my house with his friend, and he played the guitar and as soon as he played "stairway to heaven", that just melted my heart, as he is an amazing guitar player, so I was head over hills crazy for him more then, after hearing him play.

Three years passed, on another afternoon after university, one of my friends decided to grab my mobile and call Alan whilst we were waiting for our train at Central station. I was so embarrassed, as she spoke to Alan, firstly, introducing herself, then asking Alan if he likes me at all, then continued to tell Alan that if he does like me, he should ask me out already, as I was driving the whole university crazy by asking every day when you were going to ask her out!, then after saying that, she handed me the phone, I was so shell shocked, did not know how to talk, then Alan said, "can I ask You a question?", I said "ok", then he said, "will you go out with me, like boyfriends and girlfriends?", I was giggling inside and paused for a bit, then he continued saying "you don't have to answer now, if you want, you can think about it and get back to me when you're ready". then I responded with "yes, okay", he sounded really surprised that I said yes, so he asked again, "did I just hear you say you want to go out with me?", I laughed and said "yes, and if you ask again, I might change my mind", then we both laughed. He then said that he will come and pick me up from university the next day and make it official, so he did and we went out for dinner.

It was a crazy but beautiful relationship, I have learnt a lot from him and he learnt a lot from me. We share the love of music as he plays the drums and guitar. He plays the drums for a rock band, and I remember one night, my sister & I watched his band play and heard these woman dancing in front of him whilst the band was playing, chanting and flirting within him saying " we want the drummer, we want to take him home", he had this huge grin on his face and my sister and I were laughing, the women then approached him during their band break and he to told me that they asked him where he's going after the show, and he said, I am going home with my wife over there, as he pointed to me. My loyal man indeed.

He ended up joining my band as a guitarist, and later on, became our drummer when his brother retired. He joined my band to be closer to me, in spite of the genre we played being the complete opposite.

I remembered that every time we finish our show, we felt sad as he had to drop me home and he goes home.

As our love grew, we lovingly called each other "wingnut" & we decided to take the next step and he took me to a beautiful lookout, overlooking the light in the city, and he proposed to me, he said, he does not want to be with anyone else but me and would love me to be his wife, I answered "Yes' straight away, he said he doesn't have the ring yet, as he said, he wants me to choose it, as he doesn't want to stuff that up, lol and as I am crazy in love with him and still am, of course, I married him. We did not live together even after we got engaged, so he still had to drop me off each time we finished a band show.

A couple of years after we got engaged, we both decided that it is time to take the next step and got married, he told me to arrange our wedding as I want it to be, just make sure not to let him wear pink since he knows I love pink, hahaha. I remember a few guests telling us that, they have never been to a wedding where the couple were up on stage with the band entertaining and that they had so much fun at our wedding.

After we got married, we went on our honeymoon to the Gold Coast, where we had so much fun, like 2 kids in all the amusement parks.

I remember one night after our band show, I jokingly said to him, "awe darling, time to drop me off again", then he said "oh, but we're married now, so you're coming home with me", and we laughed.

11 months later, we decided to have a family, and our firstborn handsome son arrived in the world, then we had 2 more, a beautiful girl and another handsome son, 2 and half years apart. We enjoyed our beautiful little family. We went on family trips and Alan played with boys like a little kid too haha.

Regrettably, like many families, we had a few issues which had lead to us splitting up. We separated and lived different lives, but remained friends until Alan became unwell, and his health slowly deteriorated, as I still love him very much, I came back to be his support, along with the kids.

He fought for 2 years with his deteriorating health, until his body could not cope any longer and he passed away. No matter how much it hurts, the knowledge of him no longer suffering, was comforting enough.

That was one of the most heartbreaking times of my life, as when he passed, all the hurt that caused our split, all disappeared and only the great love I have for him remains.

This was when I was drawn to learning more about the afterlife, and from all of what I have learnt, I felt peace inside, knowing that I will see him again and be with him again and continue the love we have shared here on earth in the afterlife when my time comes to join him.

I always feel like I am talking to him every day in my head, so, I spoke to my priest, to see if I was going crazy, and he assured me that I am not, as the spirits of our loved ones remain with us and look after us always, for as long as we want them to be.

So, this I say, to the dearly departed love of my life, "I will love you for all eternity", "I am happy that you're with me every day in spirit for now, till we meet again my wingnut"...

married
1

About the Creator

April Marie Graham

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.