Families logo

Opinions

The Trickery of Ignorance

By Leanne and Dave BombayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Two of my biggest cheerleaders right here, my dad and my son.

"What made you guys decide to buy a brand new truck of all things?"

"Why would you invest in horses? They don't make money, they cost money!"

"Where are you guys getting the money to suddenly do all of this?"

"I could buy a new truck any day, but I just wouldn't - I couldn't do that to my family, to burden ourselves with a big payment just for a fancy truck."

"You know, I just don't understand why you would have kids and animals - and all this extra work! You guys are crazy, I would never overload myself like this. You never get any time off this way!"

"You're letting your friends live with you!? You guys are suckers."

"Why would you have horses if you're afraid of them?"

"Shouldn't you be spending more time with your baby?"

"At this rate, you two will be working until you're both dead, and leave behind nothing."

"Why don't you guys just fix your old diesel? There's like nothing wrong with it!"

Opinions, anyone? Feel free to add your own, if you think it's necessary. Would you think it is helpful to us? Eye-opening? Life-saving? Is that your hope when you ask us these intrusive questions? Are you wanting me to re-think my life with your offensive statements?

Ask me what I owe you, and I will tell you - probably, nothing.

Do I need to share what we are doing on our farm? What our passions are, and all the exciting new happenings as we establish a solid breeding and farming program and try to get our names out and known across the world? I don't have to - but I choose to. I choose to share with our supporters both our ups, our downs, our newest feats and accomplishments, and most of all, our happiness and growth as we finally are succeeding at making one of our biggest dreams come true.

But as far as providing an explanation - I'm sorry, but we don't owe anyone an explanation.

Life is short enough. We have fought long. We have fought hard. We wear permanent scars - forever reminding us of the struggles we have been through. If there's ever been a time for us to rise yet again and finally see success - that time is now.

Could we fail yet again? Absolutely. Maybe everything will fail - one thing after another. Maybe it will all crumble at once, into a large, burning heap.

Is it going to stop us? No. Will it make us give up? Hell no!

I'm extraordinarily intelligent when it comes to numbers, and I have budgeted long and hard for everything we have been making happen at the farm.

I work full time, and so does David, and we farm full time now also.

I am also a full time mother and David is also a full time father. We do not lack time or patience for any aspect of our life, including our young son, and our coming baby girl.

We are proud, and we stand with integrity behind a farm that is being built of pure sweat, blood, tears, and dreams. And we will continue to build, and continue to be proud, and we will never stop working hard for what we have and what we want.

We don't owe it to anyone to live any way other than how we choose to, purchase anything other than what we need or want to, or do anything other than the things we choose to, for the sake of their opinion. So for those in the back - sit down and watch, or get up and walk away. We are not changing a thing for you. We are not going to explain a thing to you. If you are a friend, a fellow, a loving family member, or a supporter, you will cheer us on, even if we fail, and you will witness our magic and feel inspired to create your own. We are human. We can help each other rise up.

This world doesn't have to be an ugly place where we try to bring each other down.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Leanne and Dave Bombay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.