Families logo

On the days when my wife was sick

Companionship is the best love

By CoSmilePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Today is another day for his wife to undergo dialysis. I got up very early in the morning, and I want to cook porridge for my daughter. At about seven o'clock, I went to wake up my wife and daughter. After finishing her own affairs, the wife helped her daughter to comb her hair. In taking care of my daughter, I can do everything else well, but the only thing is that my daughter’s hair is not combed well. For this reason, I have been ridiculed by my daughter many times.

   At 7:25, my wife went out to the hospital first. When she left, she told me that my parents-in-law were coming to my house today, and they also cooked a lot of vegetables and brought them over, so I don’t want to go to the market today. At that time, I was very touched by what my wife said! The weather has been relatively hot recently, but my parents-in-law still cared about me for my wife as before, unaffected by the weather at all. Parents can do this, how many people are there in the world?

   At 8:10, I took my daughter on the 18th bus to the hospital. To be honest, every day when my wife is undergoing dialysis, I feel particularly upset. I am always worried about what will happen to my wife. I always have to see it in person to make myself feel more at ease. I am a man, but I often feel guilty for not being able to help my wife. It is said that it is difficult to be a man, and now I finally understand that the difficulty of a man is that I do not have any substantial help to my relatives, and leave them alone to bear the burden of life and health.

   I am not a person who is willing to give up on my wishes. I am always planning to help my wife restore a healthy body. As long as I have a chance, I will take the initiative to fight for it. Although many times there are no better results, I can at least say to myself: "I tried my best today, and I hope I can do better tomorrow!"

   Opportunities don’t really patronize me very much. In my 40 years of life, I have experienced a lot and I have endured a lot. People say, “It’s hard to see a rainbow if you don’t experience wind and rain”, but I have experienced so many wind and rain, why haven’t I seen a brilliant rainbow?

I remember that when I went to Hangzhou with my wife last time and passed by Wuzhen, I specially purchased the "Ebony Kirin" for my wife and daughter. I heard that the Taoist priests in the Taoist temple said that the Kirin is particularly effective. As long as we do what the Taoist said, the Kirin will bring us. Good sign. But it has been months since Kirin walked into my house, why is my life still overwhelmed? Do the good things in the world really have nothing to do with me?

  When I came to the hospital, I first looked at the number on the dialysis machine: 3000ml, which is a lucky number that a wife's body and mood can bear. Then I asked my wife about the dialysis condition and found that everything is well with her, and I felt a little at ease in my heart. It's not easy to be a patient's family member! In some cases, I really have to have considerable psychological endurance, otherwise you will seriously affect the patient's treatment mentality.

   At 9:20, the parents-in-law came to the hospital. I looked at the profuse sweat of my parents-in-law, and felt a little apologetic and excited! You must know that my father-in-law is 70 years old, and my mother-in-law is 66 years old. Although their bodies are not currently suffering from major problems, the long-term psychological pressure has made the parents-in-law severely haggard.

   After my parents-in-law visited my good wife, I told my wife to let my mother-in-law stay and take care of her, while I took my father-in-law and daughter home to cook. After returning home, I was busy doing housework while talking with my father-in-law. The topic of the conversation naturally revolves around his wife’s illness. The father-in-law said: “Xiuzhen (my wife’s name)’s illness makes you very hard! We all see it in our eyes and hurt in our hearts!”

   For my father-in-law, I feel indescribable. In terms of his goodness to me, I should be responsible for being a son-in-law; but every time I feel that my father-in-law cares for me, the question immediately pops up in my mind: What are my parents doing now Woolen cloth? Will they think of me and my wife at this time? The two obvious contrasts have made my emotional balance tilted to a certain extent. This is my principle of life. Although this choice sometimes makes me sad, the reality makes me have to do it like this!

   Today’s lunch is easy to make, because my father-in-law brought a lot of cooked dishes, I just need to warm them up. After handling the housework, I accompany my father-in-law to talk a lot. To avoid the sadness of my father-in-law, I try to avoid the topic of my wife. I find some happy topics for my father-in-law to talk about.

  Since the days are not happy anymore, if we still stay in the sad quagmire, then we will lose confidence and hope when we are alive, and we will not be willing to watch the rising sun tomorrow. Living happily for my loved ones is my most urgent expectation for myself and my family. No matter what happens to my family and me, I will never give up my attachment to hope. If there is no hope in our hearts, how can we face the setbacks and tribulations in life?

   My life is spent in dialysis, but I hope more that the dialysis function can help me through a lot of pain and bring joy and happiness to my family. All the blessings are pinned in the words, and all the expectations are precipitated in the emotions.

grief
Like

About the Creator

CoSmile

The traveler’s road has no end, only the most beautiful scenery

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.