Families logo

Nothing can keep him away

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 10 days ago 3 min read

I want to see my son. I want to see Devante. Devante has been away from home for so long. And it was as if he ran away. i want to see my son as I sternly said to the military personnel. How could you keep him away from me? How could you? And I walked away from the veteran station crying. My name is Elizabeth McMurray. Devante was my only son and I don't understand why I can't talk to him. Why I can't see him? It's been two to five years since we last had supper together. I am not gonna stop till he comes back home as I talked to my priest. My heart is aching to see Devante. I keep having these dreams of his little feet and holding them. I keep having these visions of him crying Momma. My son needs me and nothing can keep me away. I am gonna find out where he is and where he's gone to. And the priest reminded me that the war isn't over. And that they probably have protocols and secret missions. I tried to listen but they just sound like excuses. And the priest said Elizabeth God is looking out for Devante. God is looking out for you. Remember all things work together for the good of those who are called and who love the Lord according to His purpose. And I said I love the Lord with all of me but I just don't understand why it hurts so bad. Why I hurt over a son that should be home? Why it hurt over not seeing him? Why it hurt over not being with him? He needs me. I know. He needs to hear my voice to know everything is okay. He needs my kisses and hugs to show him I still care. And the priest hugged me and I got myself together and went home. I prayed on the way Lord if there is something wrong with Devante let me know. If there is something I am missing let me know. And I put my shades on to see Momma, I ran to my Momma's doorstep. And I hugged her and kissed her on the cheek. And she was shocked saying Elizabeth honey what is wrong? You've never was so surprised to see me. You usually just have a short visit. I said Mom I am hurting. It hurts. Devante isn't home. The military station won't tell me. I went to the priest Father Thomas but he could not help me so I drove to you. Momma said child don't you know it is dangerous out there. I live far from you about a couple of towns. I said I know but Momma it was urgent. And I stood with Momma for a couple of days, had tea with Momma and ate Momma's famous Apple pie with Whipped Cream on top. And i slept like a baby and then after sometime I saw my son Devante as a baby. And I heard a voice say I am coming home Momma. I got up smiling and happy and I was cleaning Momma's house to the best of my ability. And Momma had to take the broom from me and said Child my house is not that dirty. What's up? And I said I slept and dream of my son coming home. Momma said Child you don't know if he is coming to this house or yours. You better get home. I was shocked and went home after kissing Momma and hugging her and saying my goodbyes. Momma went to the neighbor her friends to tell them about what had happened. And as soon as I was driving for sometime, someone kept calling but I could not answer. I tried to stop and go to voicemail but no answer. And when I was almost home, Mom called and said come over right now quick. So I got something to eat ohhhh I love Chicken Caesar Salad and a Long Island Ice Tea without the alcohol. And I drove back to Momma. And I got there and she said you are late where were you? And I said Mom I tried I had to eat what's the matter? And Devante pulled up smiling saying Mom. And I almost flip and said hurry get out of the car and let me make you something good to eat. Hurry baby. And I learned everything about what Devante went through in the military over dinner. Devante was sooooo hungry because Momma ordered him a Large Pepperoni & Sausage Pizza the next day. And I found out that he found somebody, a beautiful Captain and he said she remind him of me. That day I prayed out loud lifting my hands and said Thank you God.

literature

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    MPWritten by Matthew Primous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.