Families logo

The First Grandmother

Modern Satire

By Matthew PrimousPublished 25 days ago 4 min read
The First Grandmother
Photo by Ainara Oto on Unsplash

I seen a lot in my life time. I heard a lot in my life time. And boy it is not easy. It is not easy bringing together a people or a nation. Especially when people are stubborn about their beliefs and unrelenting in their thoughts. And people are definitely that way about religion which is understandable. It's people faith. It's people hopes and dreams. It's people heart. But politics should be different. People should be a little bit more open, a little bit more welcoming and a little bit more friendly. Like I said I seen a lot and nothing really really faze me. i seen it all folks. My son Bernie has just entered the Presidential Race and he is fired up. He has a platform that is attractive and he knows what to do. What can I say? I trained him well. I made sure he did the best in his classes. I personally vouch for hiim in school. And I never let him fail. Never will I let him do so terrible in a class that he could not recover. Even if he had to turn those Fs into Bs and those Ds into As. I made sure my son did what he suppose to do. Get a good education and strive to be the best man he could possibly be. Because that's what loving parents do, they look out for their own and they care deeply about their children. No way would i let those teachers bully him. No way would I let my kid not be the best he could possibly be. Afterall he was my only child and his Dad Bernie Senior entrusted me with most of his care. He would let me decide what to do with him and he would let me determine what his future would be. My husband promised me a say in everything and that's why I love him so dearly. A man like that that let's you wear the pants and let you have a say in the family and stand for something. That's where Bernie gets it from. His Dad was just like that till the day he left this earth. And now I am his main inspiration even Cindy his wife said that I singlehandedly inspired him to run. And Bernie said in a speech how I raised him, how I cared for him and where he came from and what he was about. Bernie was doing well in his campaign. He was off to a great start but he found obstacles. And he would not come to me. I have the experience. I have the influence. I have the dignity. Afterall I was a congresswoman and a potential presidential nominee. I got my son his governorship which became a stepping stone to his presidency. And I guided and raised his children. Bernie and Cindy entrusted me to their children in order to run and build a legacy. Now a grandmother, I think my son believe that I had enough on my plate. But he must have forgotten that a woman is much stronger if not equal to a man. I can do more and love makes me do more. So I marched to Cindy's office and said Cindy what is the biggest problems for my son's campaign. And Cindy said Mother Betty Bernie has to win over this senator who was a nemesis. The senator is just self-centered and prideful and expecting big returns. And he doesn't compromise no matter what. And he doesn't care about dividing the party. And I said What is his name? Cindy said Senator Forge. I think Harold Forge. I said Schedule me to meet with him. I want a fancy dinner and with witnesses and the press especially there. And I will come as a representative of my son for his campaign. And Bernie interrupted Mom are you sure? Are you really sure? Mom give him hell. And Bernie and Cindy hug me in my golf outfit because I was on my way to golf but I had to see about my son. So after days and days of planning, I met with the Senator. Senator Forge was stubborn but I was persisted and it was on camera. And his aide reminded him of the senior citizens vote and that I was a popular congresswoman and the mother of a future president. So I put on my best pitch I said for goodness sake, for the sake of the country, for the good of the country for the sake of the union for the sake of the party will you support my son. And he said this it may be the wine talking but yes Madam I will. And Bernie called me and said he was watching on CNN and congratulate me. And I said Son don't be afraid of them. You will be president. After my son Bernie was nominated by the party, it was the presidential debate and I told him do a Muhammad Ali bob and weave bob and weave, say what you will do and say what he haven't if he says something smart. And Bernie did well and he eventually won. Bernie on election night announced A president needs to be humble and steadfast. a president needs not only a First Lady but also he needs a First Grandmother Afterall seniors is the reason I was elected besides the youth. Seniors still got it and I stand on my mother's shoulders. Welcome America the First Grandmother. She will serve as a special advisor to the President and help direct him.

grandparents

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • shanmuga priya25 days ago

    Interesting to read..

MPWritten by Matthew Primous

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.