Families logo

My Wedding Saree

A tribute to my beloved uncle and aunt on my wedding day

By Veena VijayanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
My Wedding Saree
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

It is every girl's dream (maybe most of them) to get married to the person that they truly love. It was a dream of mine too. I had a dream of what my wedding day should be. I wanted a beautiful yet simple saree with light make-up and to be surrounded by my family. But, it didn't even come close to how I envisioned it. Considering the scenario I can't complain much.

I got married in January 2021, it was one of the peak times of Covid and there were strict rules in place for social gatherings in Kerala. Getting married during such a time was something that I neither expected nor dreamt of. But we tried to make the best out of the situation.

The biggest letdown or disappointment for me on my wedding day was that my uncle and aunt(dad's elder sister and husband) couldn't be there to witness me getting married, and bless us with a happy smile. I know deep in my heart that they would have done anything to be there. But, considering the situation, their age and health, it would be selfish of me to expect them to travel to our hometown.

Even if they couldn't make it to my wedding, I was happy with the gift that they gave me. A beautiful green saree. A couple of days before my wedding they visited us and gave me gifts. I was touched to know that they kept gold for me for my wedding just like they did for their daughter. I was their second child though not born to them.

Before receiving the saree I planned to wear a simple Kerala Settu Saree.

Something like this

I was supposed to wear 2 sarees on my wedding day. Before and during the ceremony I would be wearing a saree that is given to me by my parents and after the ceremony, I would be wearing a saree given to me by my in-laws.

But when I knew they couldn't come I decided to surprise them. Once they left, I immediately told my parents I would be wearing the saree that they gifted me instead of the settu saree. By doing so I believed I had their blessings. Not just that, I wanted their presence at my wedding so they were present in the form of that saree.

I wore the jewellery that they gifted me the day before my wedding. I clicked a couple of pictures and sent them. They were expecting that I would be wearing the Green saree. I knew they were disappointed but I couldn't reveal my surprise. I was pretty sure it would've broken their hearts but my surprise would make them happy.

So, on the day of my wedding, I got my hair and make-up done. My makeup artist was a sweet lady. She draped my saree beautifully and made me feel like a princess. Just before leaving for the wedding venue, my cousin clicked a few pictures and I asked her to send those pictures to them.

I'm sure they loved that surprise. It was my way of showing my gratitude for all that they have done for me over the years. The love, attention and care that they gave me, the way they treated me as their daughter and for always thinking about me...I owed it to them.

Even after doing all of this, I still have regret in my heart. My wedding pictures are filled with all the people that love and care about me but I couldn't take a picture with them in that saree. But I do have countless memories with them. And going forward, I want them to be there for all the special occasions in my life.

Thank you Mummy & Daddy for being there in my life, and for being more like my parents.

My husband and I_ Me wearing the saree that they gifted.

married
Like

About the Creator

Veena Vijayan

A passionate reader with the dream of becoming a writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina B.about a year ago

    Your saree is beautiful! Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.