Families logo

My Mother's Mystique

A Daughter's Divine Declaration

By Sierra HumphreyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

Grateful, exuberant tears stream down my cheeks as I type these words, blurring my vision and clearing Her Sight. The opportunity to spotlight my Mother is too great to pass up, for this woman is my SHero whom I deeply admire and adore. We firmly ascertain that She chose me and I chose Her. I believe Her seeds have taken root in the Earth and will bloom for eons to come, but she would never say such things of herSelf.

Rebecca is humble number eight of nine siblings, born and raised in the Heart of it All—Columbus, Ohio. This is also where our story begins, on a sunny morning in late December of 1994 when the Great Spirit manifested a divine Mother~Daughter duo: Rebecca & Sierra.

Every year on my B(Earth)day, she recounts the story of my arrival, and boy, was She was ready for Me. I was born on my due date with a full head of dark brown hair, and promptly laid upon Her breast (certainly famished, for I had traveled quite far). And just like that, we were two peas in a pod, nourishing One another with a Love as deep and flowing as the Ocean. From my very first breath, I have known profound connection to Mother.

I grew up happy, wild, and free; barefoot and butt naked in the Sun as much as mom let me, building fairy houses and mixing potions with sticks and leaves. Our family was close—She made sure of that. We laughed a lot and shared ecstatic moments of joy and peace. I was always fond of our camping trips, enjoying each other's company under the trees; a cicada chorus serenading the sweet satisfaction of simply Being together...Now a faded memory. Looking back through the eyes of a child, Life seemed easy.

As it goes, years rolled by and unfolded into a modern classic tale of the white, upper middle class, suburban household. Mom cooked most nights and did all of our laundry. She took care of the dogs and cleaned up after us. She helped us with our homework, took us shopping for everything we needed, and even washed my feet in the kitchen sink on occasion! This woman gave all of herSelf to our family without hesitation or complaint.

To top it off, Rebecca became an entrepreneur. When my brother and I were young, she began a daycare from home. As we got older, she boldly took the lead on developing a successful business in a flourishing online market (that she still primarily runs today), and then facilitated bringing my dad into the business so he could spend more time at home with us. Today, she is blazing new trails in real estate development in central Ohio, and is the reason I am blessed to call my house Home.

One thing my mom has always said with confident conviction is that the Well-Being of her children is her top priority. She has told me and my brother our entire lives that no matter what, under any and all conditions, if we ever need her, She will Be Here for us as quickly as she can...and my SHero hasn't failed me yet. She is my Dame in flowing Rivers guiding me through Nights disguised in shining Daylight; flowing and supporting, never forcing or controlling.

In typical Western fashion, my parents divorced soon after I went to college, which came as a shock to me and greatly affected my emotional balance. I developed a dependency on alcohol for social engagement, and my own relationships began to feel shallow. After a traumatic experience at a high school reunion one winter break, I felt I had lost all control over my own body and mind. My mom held me in her arms as I screamed and sobbed, feeling hopelessly lost and deeply confused by the world.

My experience had caused her to remember a book she'd read years prior that had given her great relief from her own suffering. It was called "Conversations With God" by Neale Donald Walsh, and we drove to Barne's and Noble that day to pick up a copy. I began reading it out loud in the car, and before we arrived back home, I found mySelf Awakened to Life again. Receiving this guidance has since inspired open dialogue between me and my mom I am immensely grateful to have the opportunity to explore.

Overcome with great wonder and enthusiasm, I felt like I'd recovered the key I finally realized had been buried within me all along. Blessed with my Mom's explicitly everlasting Love and support, I ventured deeper into my Being, exploring Nature with bare feet again, running my fingers along cracks and crevices of the Earth, finding Space, and feeling Time beneath Her Silence, communing with the whispering winds of His Voice, no longer asking Questions whose Answer lies beneath my feet Now, Here.

Eventually school work and social scenes lost all meaning to me, and I found myself in an existential crisis, quite literally leading to my ego's downfall: two different diagnoses of bi-polar, prescribed therapy and medication, and finally a week's stay in the hospital having numerous reconstructive surgeries done on my right elbow and breast. It was an abrupt and jarring accident, but I consider it Divine Intervention. I attained a profound sense of inner peace through the traumas, and the outpouring of Love I received further devoted me to a journey of deep introspection, raw expression, and true healing.

My Mom took financial responsibility for my medical bills and came with me to every doctor's visit and therapy session, remaining nurturing and supportive throughout the entire experience. She Sees and Hears my Truth, supports my growth, offers soft words of wisdom when I need them most. She sets me up for successes, smiles for me through hard times, celebrates the simple joys in Life, and offers unconditional Love always.

Rebecca has a knack for making a person feel special as her radiant attention focuses upon you. I deeply admire her friendly, generous offerings of Loving kindness, handing out waves, smiles, and hellos freely and frequently; like a fairy sprinkling pixie dust to help you fly! She is a mystical Being of eternal Love, and a magical demonstration of everlasting Light. My gratitude for Mother extends far Beyond the stars, delving into twinkling, distant galaxies.

Thank you for everything, Mom.

I Love You!

parents
2

About the Creator

Sierra Humphrey

Grateful to Be NowHere experiencing this Dream of Reality; between laughter & tribulation, a Quest of our own Creation; ease & grace, pride & strength; Listen as the Water washes over, and we will f l o w great lengths.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.