Families logo

My life As a child giver

Special needs mommy

By Ashley StarkeyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
My life As a child giver
Photo by Alireza Attari on Unsplash

I am a care giver to a very special needs child, she is six years old. She has autism, adhd, odd, aniexty and a really bad sleeping disorder. I am a single mom. Thankfully I am a stay at home mom. I honestly don't know how parents do it when they must work. Autism children normally thrive on routine, but sleeping pattern kind of messes that up. How can you do I routine with a child that can't sleep? My daughter only sleeps for about four hours, sometimes not even that. The last few nights she doesn't go to bed til four or five in the morning and than I am back up at eight or nine in the morning. Can you imagine what this is like for everyone? Well let me shine some light on this for you.

Having a special needs child is just like having any other kind of kid, except times their behavior by about ten. My daughter will be six March 17th. Should be better right? Wrong the older she gets I swear her sleep gets worst. She use to sleep all night as a baby, that all went out the window around age two, now she stays up all night long looking like Taz. She cries so much about everything and I mean everything. Favorite show goes to something else, She doesn't want to leave the house, the cat doesn't want to play with her, She doesn't want to take a bath or go to bed the list goes on. She is also one that still puts things in her mouth that doesn't belong in her mouth, so still got to basically keep everything babyproofed.

Eating with her is very picky and on the go with her. She has so much energy that she won't sit still to eat. If it can't be held in her hand she won't eat it. I am trying my best to continue to work with her. As I only the best for her. She so tired, but can't, won't sleep. She can't process certain colors very well, these colors will over do her senses and melt down. Loud noises will also trigger melt downs screaming and all like lawn mowers and weed eaters. Autism sucks for sure around my house as I live in the country trackers working in hay fields, and mowing, weeding, and working on the house. Doing anything that is an overload to sensory disorder is fun to say the least. Shopping for more than 20 minutes you hear are you done yet every five minutes, or I want to go home, or her screaming and crying in the store and have everyone starring at you. I sometimes feel as if everyone is looking at me thinking I need to get my kid better control, Just know we as mothers of special needs children are really trying our best.

We are tired, we may not have help or anyone to watch them while we do things that our children don't like to do. We got to do these things though, and trust me we don't like doing them. I myself would rather stay in so that you guys don't have to deal with the behavior that she does. But I have noone that can do it for me or to watch her. So please be kind when you see us and try not to judge us. I get two maybe three hours of sleep a night cause she can't sleep. I also have medical issues I am a type one diabetic, Bi-polar, Aniexty disoder, and half blind. So our days can be good or bad.

I love her so much though, I wouldn't change it for the world she is my special Angel sent to help me though life.

children
1

About the Creator

Ashley Starkey

My name is Ashley I am 28. I love writing and wanted some where I could share some writings with people. I am working on how to write for public though as normally no one sees my stuff. I have three kids and lots of animals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.