Families logo

My Angels story

Becca

By Ashley StarkeyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Angels story
Photo by DAVID ZHOU on Unsplash

My special Angels story on why she is special. My daughter was born early and had issues during pregnancy. I tried to get pregnant for five years, I couldn't. My doctor had put me on birth control, I don't know why. When I went back to get my birth control again the doctor came in and told me I was pregnant. I was shocked and scared, I had been taking birth control, how could this be? She did an ultrasound cause I didn't know how far along I was. I was 7 weeks, now I am really scared I had been taking bc for 12 weeks. Would she be okay? Pregnancy went great for awhile. Than at 6 months I had to much water around her and she was to big. Than starting in Feburary I started having to go into the hospital a couple times to get shots to stop labor. I wasn't due til April 15th. March 8th I went back to hospital shot again to stop labor. March 9th and 12th to shot again to stop labor. March 16th hospital again shot again to stop labor and a test to say weather I would have her within the next so many days it was negitive, Well they sent me home that night. I asked my mom to stay with me I didn't feel well. So she stayed and I drunk a lot of mountain dew ( I am a type one diabetic have been since age 8) I didn't take insulin because something kept telling me not to. Well I go upstairs to take a bath, As I am going down the stairs after I am done I pass out. My mom calls 911 she thought my sugar was high. They get there and they check my sugar I'm 22 ( None diabetic should be 70-180) they rush me to the hospital get my sugar stable and we deliever my baby girl. She was healthy besides her sugar being 24. We spent a couple days in the hospital, but we were okay. I was so glad to be able to go home, no more nurses coming in and out of room every two hours to check my sugar, or waking up to my baby being gone.

The first few weeks at home were crazy of course trying to get use to a newborn and having to have a c-section. I had a huge dog (husky pitbull mix) she was very protective of baby to point you basically had to get permission to even enter the baby's room. But that big of a dog after c-section hurt badly trying to take outside. Luckily my mom was around for the first few weeks.

My daughter didn't do the normal stuff like most kids like she should of. She didn't crawl until nine months old. She didn't walk until eighteen months old, she didn't jump until three, she didn't talk until five, and even today most things you still can't understand at all. We did healthy families for years, We did speech twice a week, we did preschool, Than we started getting labels.

Later in life we realized my daughter was autistic, odd, adhd, axienty issues, and sleep issues, as well as mentally changellened. We have good days and very bad days. But just because she is autistic doesn't mean she strange or can't do things others can do. Simply means she's special. She sees more details in things than non autistic people and she can remember every shirt design she has even without looking. I have learned if she saids she has a monkey shirt to just agree cause trust me even if you haven't seen a monkey shirt in six months she knows right where it is. They are very special. Autistic people see the world so much different than us, but in a good way. They see so many details that we do not. Just cause some may never talk, some may not be potty trained when most think they should be, they are very smart. My daughter can match every color, shape, and numbers she just may not be able to say them. She doesn't sleep much at all, only four hours a night. Even though she has all these labels I will not let it stop us from doing what we want to do. I will help her every step of the way of her life that I possibly can.

Thanks for reading our story.

children
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Starkey

My name is Ashley I am 28. I love writing and wanted some where I could share some writings with people. I am working on how to write for public though as normally no one sees my stuff. I have three kids and lots of animals.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.