Families logo

My kids say my YouTube channel is ✩✩★★★ cringe

I like making things, ok?

By Vanessa R. PowellPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Me busy doing cringey girl shit. Not to be confused with "hot girl shit"

Today, I'm going to ask my kids to rate my videos on cringe-level.

We'll be using this 5-star rating scale.

✩✩✩✩★ 1 Star = Not even cringey - Why was this even on the list?

✩✩✩★★ 2 Stars = Not that bad - like any other random YouTube video out there

✩✩★★★ 3 Stars = Little Cringey - Could have been worse, Could have been better

✩★★★★ 4 Stars = Pump the Brakes, it's getting Cringey In Here! - Hey hey, slow down now, you're starting to cringe me out!

★★★★★ 5 Stars= The Ultimate Level of Cringe - um, what was mom thinking?

By Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Cooking with Vanessa

My kids' rating: ✩✩★★ 2 Stars = Not that bad - like any other random YouTube video out there

My thoughts: I love to cook but I am lazy. We eat out more than I would like to admit. We are all picky in our own ways. So, making dinner can sometimes be a frustrating task. This is one of my earlier videos, where I was still learning my way around YouTube, videography, and whatever else you want to add in LOL. I don't even know what the point of this video was...it wasn't instructional, and it skips around.

Box Color - Gone Right? or Gone Wrong?

My kids' rating: ✩★★★ 3 Stars = Little Cringey - Could have been worse, Could have been better

My thoughts: I told my daughter this was NOT going to work. She was cracking up that I kept adding the leftover dye into my hair. The funniest part of the whole video was when I put my foot in the tub...and you all can't even see it. Although, it may have been a "had to be there" moment. Something that drives me crazy --> screw on/off caps on shower products. WHY?! Just why?! My hands are wet, I'm squeezing product into my hand, now what do I do? Sit the bottle down and then use the product? Hope that it doesn't fall over and spill out in the tub? Pop tops, people! POP TOPS.

Mother Daughter NYC Day 3

My kids' rating: ✩✩★★ 2 Stars = Not that bad - like any other random YouTube video out there

My thoughts: Anyone else have kids that constantly do TikTok dances? I will say, mine have FINALLY slowed down doing them. It used to be so bad, that you couldn't have a conversation with them without constant dancing. Moving on, this was my favorite day in NYC. I had always wanted to take a photograph in the middle of Times Square and a busy intersection and I finally did it. We did a lot of exploring on this day. We went to a street festival with a lot of performers, saw the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, visited Trinity Church where Alexander Hamilton's is buried, saw the 9/11 Memorial, shopped at a lot of stores (Capezio is featured), and attended our first comedy show at the Upright Citizens Brigade where they did an improv show called "Shamilton".

The Office: Shrute Farms Sweatshirt

My kids' rating: ✩✩✩★ 1 Star = Not even cringey - Why was this even on the list?

My thoughts: Similar to my first video that I posted...I don't understand the point of this video. I literally only showed 2 things I did during the entire day I was awake. TWO. WHAT?! This doesn't make any sense. I think I was just SO excited to be binge watching The Office, I felt the need to incorporate it into a video somehow. Terrible.

Driving with Vanessa

My kids' rating: ✩★★★★ 4 Stars = Pump the Brakes, it's getting Cringey In Here! - Hey hey, slow down now, you're starting to cringe me out!

My thoughts: Someone call my PCP, I think I need ADD or ADHD meds. Listen, I remember this day and it was ALL over the place. (kind of like my brain!) However, it's a fairly accurate description of what a day in the life with me is like.

  • Talk out loud to other drivers that can't hear me? ✔️
  • Sing in random places? ✔️
  • Have a day start out great and out of nowhere everything hits the fan? ✔️
  • Makeup casualties? ✔️
  • Have dumb/genius ideas and feel the need to say them out loud? ✔️

THE LIST GOES ON.

Dash Mini Waffle Maker - First Time Using It!

My kids' rating: ✩✩★★ 2 Stars = Not that bad - like any other random YouTube video out there

My thoughts: The cringiest part of the whole video (to me) is at 0:33. No one cares about your brown batter! (That's what I want to say to myself). It's like... hey, let's pause. I need to be serious for a moment and let you know about my brown batter. (insert shaking head). Carry on! Story of my life and failing in some fashion while cooking. I am not the best recipe follower but there were ZERO instructions regarding how long to cook the waffle. All in all it is a pretty cool little gadget.

...and that's a wrap! While I have other YouTube videos, I asked them to rate these. I guess a little cringe isn't so bad, eh?

In the video "Mother Daughter NYC day 3":

Go back to 2:30-2:33 in the video. I was so excited and shocked that I saw the sun beaming through in the shape of a heart surrounded by clouds AND I caught it on video just before the clouds moved. It was truly magical and amazing. To understand the depth of my feelings, you'll need to read:

Enjoy this post? Consider leaving a tip, sharing the post, or giving it a heart ♥️ , it's kind of my thing after-all.

social media

About the Creator

Vanessa R. Powell

I am a portrait photographer, graphic designer, creator extraordinaire, oh and I sell Scentsy. I suppose I am dabbling in writing too 😊 | Based in Evansville, IN | I am 721vanessa Photography | www.721vanessa.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Vanessa R. PowellWritten by Vanessa R. Powell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.