Families logo

My First Pregnancy

Xavier's birth, the scariest thing I've been through

By Samantha WardPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
My First Pregnancy
Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

The day of September 10th of 2014 was one of the scariest but best days of my life. I was at home with my daughter who was about to turn 4 in October and my son that was 2 at the time, he had some health issues so he had a nurse at my home at the time. I also had weatherization people at my house weatherizing my home. I had picked up my son to put him into his high chair, well I thought that I had peed my pants so I went to change and went on about my business. The next thing I know I felt like I had peed myself again. I then smelled it to see if it was pee. It did not smell like pee at all.

So here I am freaking out thinking that something is wrong with me or my baby. I called the dr and she told me to get to the E.R. as soon as possible. So I call my fiance and he hurries home and tells everyone that they have to leave because I was in labor we went and picked up his sister on the way to the hospital because she lived right by the hospital and we needed her to keep an eye on the younger two children. As soon as I got out of the vehicle my water had completely broken I go into the hospital and say "I think my water just broke". They hurry me to the labor and delivery floor where things get really interesting.

I was having contractions but due to my CMT I did not feel them at all. They kept asking me if I felt them I kept telling them no. Well, I then started going in and out of consciousness and my face was getting really red. My dad kept asking the nurse what was wrong with me and why I was not completely aware of everything going on. She just kept assuring him that it was alright.

So, she then asks me my pain level to whichI replied "it is at 100" she then says to me "it can't be that's when the baby is coming out". This is when I had told her that she needed to get out of my room and get me a new nurse right away and that I did not want her in my room anymore.

They bring in a new nurse and she right away says that my baby is stuck and I need an emergency c-section or myself and my baby would die. My dad then calls my fiance to get back to the hospital right away before they took me. He then rushed back and I was immediately taken back for my c-section. I was so afraid something was going to happen. Especially since I was only 33 weeks pregnant.

They immediately took my son. I did not get to see him or hold him until a few hours later. He was on oxygen and was in an incubator. I was so afraid that I was going to lose my little boy. He was only 3lbs and 15 oz. I was in the hospital for four days and I had to leave my baby boy at the hospital. Even though I had a c-section and was in a lot of pain I was up at the hospital every day to check on him and spend time with him. I would call every night to check on him. I worried all the time whether or not he would make it and wondered when he would come home.

Now, yes I had older children but they were not my biological children. This was my first biological child and I was so scared that I was going to lose my baby. Three weeks later my son was able to come home. He is now about to be 8 years old and is just amazing. He is so smart and just the happiest little boy. I really couldn't imagine my life without him. He is my strong baby that made it through his rough start.

children
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Ward

Just a mom of 4 children going through this rough life! Love reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.