Families logo

Money and Health, Family and Me

At the age of 24, I suddenly realize that if my parents are seriously ill and need to spend a lot of money, what should I do? Who can I find to raise money?

By AndreaJonesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

At the age of 24, I suddenly realize that if my parents are seriously ill and need to spend a lot of money, what should I do? Who can I find to raise money?

I work in a hospital. A few days ago, I chatted with my colleagues about some things of money and health. We always spent all our money every month. If our parents are seriously ill, what do we take to see the doctor? She said that she bought an insurance policy for her parents' father, who had never been hospitalized. If he was seriously ill, he might really be able to help her. After getting married, she could feel that her parents were getting older. Several of her father's brothers died of pneumonia, and her father was the only one left. The old man couldn't quit drinking and smoking. Recently, I was especially afraid that her parents would suffer a serious illness. At that time, she could not afford the medical expenses and could not save her close relatives, and it was not that her husband's family would ignore it, but her husband was also the only child in the family.

I think my colleagues have been afraid of it in our 20s. Now young people are used to spending ahead of time. Every month when the salary is paid, I spend it first and then borrow it. There is no money left. In fact, gradually I also fear that one day my If my parents are seriously ill, will I also give up saving them because I have no money?

One night shift a year ago, an old man was admitted to the emergency department. He woke up at night and fell, not only fractured but also accompanied by cerebral hemorrhage. The two operations only saved the life of the old man, but the best recovery was only a hemiplegia. The son and the young grandson of the younger son’s family who died early, due to accidental falls, the hospital process is to pay at their own expense, and reimbursement will be given if there is no third party after discharge inspection. At the age of junior high school, he knelt down in front of his uncle and cried, "Please uncle, save grandpa. I haven't finished school yet, and I haven't had time to be filial to him. I think he will get better." Sitting on the floor of the hospital, with people coming and going in the lobby of the hospital, holding the report sheet and wiping tears silently is commonplace, you can never see the family members waiting outside the ICU, and that anxious worry turned into the howling of lost loved ones. The old man still didn't make it to the second operation. When the uncle came to checkout, he said that my father didn't want to implicate me either. He knew that it was expensive to spend in the hospital. Have the confidence to live. I was so guilty, if I had money, he would definitely want to live.

Burns, many of us have heard of it, do you know how much it will cost if you are unfortunately burned in a large area? If treated it can really overwhelm a family, if left untreated it can kill. Severe burns, let's not talk about the beauty of the treatment, just after the burn, the tissue will exudate in a large area, which will cause hypovolemia or septic shock, which are fatal enough. It requires a large amount of blood albumin and skin grafting. , For the time being, it takes millions to save their lives, and how much effort is needed to maintain life like this. The quality of life of the patients has been greatly reduced, and the mentality has also collapsed. Generally, families are stuck in the middle and give up because they are unable to pay for medical expenses.

Money is really really important. It’s not because of vanity. I am really afraid that one day disaster will really come. I will give up my loved ones because I have no money and can't borrow money from others. I am afraid that I will not be filial all my life. I am afraid that it will be me who will take their ventilator in the end.

I just asked my mother, do people really give up medical treatment because they have no money? Mom said, "Yes, there are too many powerless people to do when they get sick, and every parent doesn't want to drag their children down." They are too burdened to help.

So writing this, I hope not only 20 years old and 30 years old, please don't waste your money during your working stage, and one day, let your parents also depend on old age, we have a clear conscience.

grief

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

AndreaJones is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

AWritten by AndreaJones

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.